Valentine’s Day – Beautiful Creatures

Happy Valentine’s Day, to all who celebrate. And even if you don’t, happy love day anyway! I’ve been single every February 14th of my life, except one in freshman year. Last year, I started a tradition for myself of taking a day of pampering. In 2012, I got a haircut and a fancy hair product that was far too expensive. This year, I treated myself to Panera (black bean soup and thai chopped chicken), and a movie (Beautiful Creatures).

In this time in my life, I don’t have someone special to spend this day with, but it doesn’t mean I can’t be treated to a lovely day on my own. I, for one, feel much more relaxed after my shenanigans. PLUS! I got to eat as many chocolate hearts and Mrs. Field’s Cookies as I wanted without worrying if I still looked slim and gorgeous for my man. Now THAT is the best feeling in the world, I say. Anyway…

Beautiful Creatures. I’ve been excited to see this for several months now, and I’m sad to say that I my expectations were not met. I give it a 6/10, or a 3/5, depending on which scale you prefer. I think the x/10 is best, because sometimes a 3 is too little and a 4 is too much.

I probably should preface this by saying that I haven’t read the books, or even a synopsis of the books, so this is based entirely on my movie experience.

At the end, I was left feeling ehhh. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t fantastic. The trailers were glorious (Florence + the Machine’s “Seven Devils” played over some fantastic film cuts), and I was ready for a bomb-tastic, all out war between the light and dark casters.

Instead, after the first twenty minutes of mystery and figuring things out, mostly every scene between the main characters (Lena and Ethan) was plodding and filled with making out. There’s nothing wrong with kissing (hello, why else do we pay $12 to see each new Nicholas Spark’s movie, even though it’s the same plot every time?), but what really bothered me was that Lena was only fifteen and a half at the start of this movie.

Maybe I’m stuck in my own childhood, but should a fifteen year old really be frenching? In one scene, it’s almost implied that they do the deed, unless I’m mistaken. Fifteen?? And this society wonders why we have so many teenage mothers. This is supposed to be a YOUNG ADULT movie – ages 13-17, right? Is this really the message we want to send to the younger viewers? If the characters were 17-19, it would make a bit more sense, and then I could blame the cynic in me for disliking the romance. But, they’re not, and we’re left with some steamy moments between two almost-sixteen year olds.

Other than that, the movie was just a bit… dull. There were some exciting moments, but all of them were included in the trailer. It’s like a comedy movie that has the funniest lines in the trailer, and then sucks the rest of the time. I was confused a few times in the story line, because it was almost like we were expected to have read the books and know the basic plot beforehand. In the end… I don’t want to spoil it, but it was as climatic as the ending of Breaking Dawn. Pretty disappointing…

I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed Emmy Rosum as Ridley. She was sexy and dangerous and fully embodied the “dark caster”. I want her sunglasses, as a side-note. Desperately.

In the end, I’m glad it was a gift card that paid for my movie ticket, and not my own paycheck. It had promise, but fell flat. I suggest Redbox or a discount theatre, if you have one near you.

 

On the subject of Valentine’s Day: do you have any special traditions you do for yourself (if single) or your significant other (if partnered/married/dating)? Have you seen Beautiful Creatures, or do you plan to? What were your thoughts on the movie?

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day – Beautiful Creatures

  1. Is it a chick flick? I don’t know much about it but am interested because of Jeremy Irons. You as aid you gave it a 6/10 so you must have thought it was a little better than average. Great review.

    Check out my review website if you are interested: http://www.vlizz.com and have you seen “Warm Bodies”?

  2. Don’t feel terrible about feeling a bit ehhh at the end of the movie, that’s pretty much the same feeling I had at the end of the book. I’ll be honest, I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I can tell you that after reading the book, I ended up trading it in for credit to buy something else. That says a lot coming from me because I kind of hoard books.

    On a side note, you should definitely see and/or read Warm Bodies. The movie was great and the book was freaking fantastic 🙂

      • I highly recommend that you do both 🙂 The odred in which you do it is up to you though. I normally prefer to read the book after I’ve seen the movie because if I don’t I tend to have unfair expectations of the movie based on what I thought about the book. I happened to have read Warm Bodies at the end of last year before I even knew that there was going to be a movie, so in this case I really didn’t have a choice. It worked out okay though, because the movie stayed pretty true to the book 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

