Angels and Demons

I’m going to come out and say it – I’m addicted to Supernatural. Shocking, I know. I’m working on Season 4 right now, and there’s one thing that’s honestly been on my mind as I keep working through the episodes: Dean didn’t believe in angels until he met Castiel.

What?

I didn’t understand this at all. How can someone who has faced genies, zombies, witches, changelings, vampires, shape shifters, and a multitude of other creatures, not to mention demons, not believe in angels? Specifically, how can you believe in demons, but not angels? The logic is lost on me.

You can’t have darkness without light, or light without darkness. There’s a balance that always exists in nature. If there were only demons, how would we quantify them as ‘evil’, if there’s nothing ‘good’ to compare them to? I think it would be almost ignorant, really, to blatantly ignore the reality of angels, especially for someone who has fought and killed demons. I don’t think it would be too far a stretch to accept the existence of one if you’ve accepted the other.

I don’t really have an answer to my own question, but it was something that definitely stuck with me. Any theories you have to share?

Sorry for the lack of posts, by the way! I’ve been working on another novel (Outlander by Diana Gabaldon), but it’s a beast at nearly 600 pages.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

