The Call

I can’t believe it took me so long to see The Call, but I’ve finally done it, and I’ve spent the first ten minutes post-movie berating myself for not getting my butt to the theatre sooner. It was that good. Right away, I’ll give it a 9/10.

Even though it’s only an hour and a half long, I think that was one of the strongest points of the movie. There was no time to calm down and ease into a concept: it happened, and you kept barreling forward. I don’t believe there was one moment where I wasn’t in some posture of surprise or anxiety. It was constant heart-racing, adrenaline-pumping action. It was also the most I’ve seen an audience involved in a movie – nearly everyone was shouting at the characters, screaming when something horrifying occurred, or (in the case of the… lovely… people a few seats to my left) laughing at strangest moments that really weren’t funny.

The concept was great as well – I’ve never before thought, “Oh, what happens behind the scenes, when it all begins?” The director handled it tastefully as well; I didn’t feel overwhelmed by the ‘here let me show you’. There were some light hearted moments, especially by a few of the 911 callers, but they quickly dissipated as the more desperate calls came in. The rest of the movie was horrifying, emotional, and undeniably gripping – one that you want to turn away from but can’t seem to tear your eyes away.

I won’t go too deep into the plot, because this is one of those movies where you just want to grip your seat and head full-on into the unknown. There were a few moments that I felt were too dramatic – would a cop really stop and have a chat while they’re in the middle of a kidnapping investigation? Could you not have made that call while driving? Would a 911 operator truly have gone into the field like that? The latter was the single moment when the movie turned down a more cliche road, but I found that it wasn’t a horrible direction. There were only two or three of those moments, and they don’t interrupt the flow too much. The ending, too, was a bit abrupt, but after mulling it over I find that even though it wasn’t the traditional ending, I was highly satisfied. It could have been sappy and heart-wrenching, or bitter and malicious, but it ends up middling between the two.

In the end, the movie also hits on some harsh realities. Casey, the second kidnapped girl, was walking to her car alone in a parking structure when she was abducted – she had been distracted by her phone. It wasn’t even nighttime; it was the middle of the day. I think there are some aspects of the movie that really touch on how vigilant people, and I suppose women in particular, need to be when alone. I may also have to apologize to my dad for hushing him when he warned me about situations like this…

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

