After a Brief Hiatus

I admit it: I’ve been horrible at updating lately. I’m really, really sorry, and I promise to be more faithful! There’s been a lot going on in my life, but it looks like it’s going to quiet down finally. Here’s a quick update on me:

  • Camp NaNoWriMo for April – It was rough going for the first few days, but I finally found the rhythm of my plot and characters. After a long writing day yesterday, I’m actually ahead of schedule!
  • I’ve started to prepare for my classes I’m teaching next year, which means a lot of the books I review will be older/classics. Enjoy!
  • I was offered the position of Algebra II tutor in addition to my literature classes, so I’ll be pretty busy next semester!
  • I started a new program that helps speed up my metabolism by changing what foods I eat together and how often I eat them. In one month, I’ve lost two inches from my waist! Here’s the link, if you want to check it out. The first two weeks are a dollar still, I believe.

That’s all I can think of for now that’s been really exciting.

During NaNo this month, I’ve come to a realization: writing is not always fun. There, I said it. Sometimes I really want to throw my laptop out of the window. My characters wouldn’t cooperate, the plot was a little muddled, and it would have been much easier to just skip a day and put it off. And then do the same thing, over and over… Until it’s a year later and I’m still wondering why my life is heading nowhere.

That’s why I’m thankful for Nano: I hate to lose. I refuse to not hit 50K. So, I’ve forced myself to sit down, every day, no matter how long it takes, and crank out those 1667 words. Once I find my rhythm, after slogging through the first few hundred words at a snails pace, I find my excitement, and I can write faster and more clearly. They’re not all pretty, some may only make sense to me (and even that’s questionable), but I have them on paper. I can edit all I want later, but there’s no editing to do if the story is still trapped in my head.

So, yeah, writing is not always fun. At first I thought, “maybe writing really isn’t what I want to do for a living,” but then I realized something. Writing, just like everything else, takes work. If every author put off writing when the plot splits off in eighty different directions, or a character is being a pain in the rear, would we have half of the books that exist in our world?

Sometimes, you just have to sit down, bang your head against the keyboard for a bit, take a nap, and then refocus and write your damn novel, because no one else is going to write it for you.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

