The Great Gatsby – Movie

After a bit of a delay this weekend, I got around to seeing the new Great Gatsby movie. I’ve been looking forward to this one for a few months, and I’m sad to say that I was a bit disappointed.

The Great Gatsby Movie

There wasn’t one particular thing that stood out to me as horrid, but after the movie there was a general sense of dissatisfaction. If I were to pick one thing that was the worst, I would say it’s the pacing of the plot. There are some important parts that I felt are rushed through and some insignificant scenes that drag on far too long. Or, there are moments that were rightfully included, but they grew annoying simply because they didn’t end the scene when it should have been ended. So, yes: the pacing was the worst.

To counteract the pacing, though, was what I felt was a fantastic cast. Even though I dislike Tobey Maguire (it’s something about his voice), who plays Nick Carraway, he played Carraway’s character very well. Leonardo DiCaprio was, ahem, a great Gatsby – sorry, the pun was unavoidable, and Joel Edgerton embodied Tom Buchanan very well. All three men were solid in their performances, but really I have to give it to the ladies in this one.

Carey Mulligan (Daisy Buchanan), Isla Fisher (Myrtle Wilson), and Elizabeth Debicki (Jordan Baker) all were their characters. Mulligan was just as ditzy and emotionally unsteady as I had pictured her from the book, and Fisher was obnoxious and clingy as Myrtle.

Then, there’s Debicki as Jordan Baker. I had no idea who Debicki was before this movie, but I’ll definitely be keeping my eye on her in the future. For me at least, her performance as Jordan was riveting, and arguably the best part of the entire movie. She was sultry and wasn’t as forward as Daisy, but kept to the background as a more level character. I know she was a minor character in the book, but I really wished they had expanded her character, since they took such creative license with one other aspect of the book to movie translation.

Which brings me to my final point, and my secondary reason for the dislike I feel towards the movie. They had Nick Carraway narrating from an asylum, as a recovering alcoholic. Okay, I could handle that, BUT it turned into his narrating throughout the entire 2+ hour debacle, and they portrayed it as it was HE who had written the book about his experiences with Gatsby. Maybe not a huge offense in the long run, but really? Was that necessary? It might just be the purist in me, but come on…

Overall, it was really pretty to look at, with all the flashing lights and dresses and sparkles. I’m not sure about the accuracy of the appearances, but it was nice to look at. Oh, and one other thing that I just remembered (see – I knew there was a lot to dislike): the music. Other than one song, it was almost an abomination that they put that rap stuff over the JAZZ AGE scenes. It had a nice effect, but really broke up the believability of the settings. Like, really? That’s what you went with?

Sherlockdon'twanttoliveAnyway… I give it a 6/10 for my final rating. It could have been worse, but there’s a lot that is left to be desired.

4 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby – Movie

  1. You should go see the new Star Treck movie, Into Darkness. I’d be interested to what you thought … A couple of friends and I went to see it a few days ago purely because it had Benedict Cumberbatch in (who by the way was brilliant). 😀

    • I’ll be seeing it this Saturday, and I’ll post that night most likely! Look out for it! (So glad to hear that BC was impressive; this will be my first time seeing him out of Sherlock)

  2. I was excited for this film’s release, but I’ve read a lot of reviews that were lukewarm at best. A common theme I’ve heard is great cast, beautiful costumes and set design, but the plot deviated too much from the book. Irritated a lot of people. Hmm. Maybe I’ll wait for Redbox.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Movie Adaptations | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

