Star Trek Into Darkness

And here it is: my full review of the Star Trek Into Darkness movie! I just want to get this out of the way and say that I have only seen the first few episodes of the New Generation series, so my Star Trek experiences are as of right now limited to the 2009 movie and said five or six episodes I saw on Netflix. That being said, I love science fiction, and my dad is a huge Trekkie, so for his birthday (happy birthday dad!) we went out for some frozen yogurt and, of course, to see the movie that we’ve been waiting for months to see.

We’ll get my rating out of the way first: 10/10. This movie was fantastic. I already want to see it again, and if I wasn’t saving for a new laptop I’d probably be at the theater tomorrow. Despite the negative reviews about series continuity (my dad caught a few of them, but didn’t seem to mind), I thoroughly enjoyed this. I don’t even know how long it was (I just googled it: 2 hours and 3 minutes), but I was almost surprised when it was over, like, “That’s it? We’re done??” I wanted more, not because the ending was a cliffhanger, but because I didn’t want it to end.

The character development of Spock (Zachary Quinto) and Kirk (Chris Pine), was a steady continuation from what was established in the first movie of the reboot. They had to face some of the issues caused by Kirk’s lack of attention to the rules, and Spock’s insistence on following everything precisely. In the first half hour of the movie, I was really worried about the direction Kirk was taking (angry, volatile, rash), but he turned it around and showed a lot of maturity in his actions as the movie progressed. Spock, too, showed some more emotion, and one of the best scenes was between the two men near the end (I didn’t expect to get emotional, but I had to choke back a few tears).

The women were more involved in the sequel as well, which was a pleasure since attractive ladies are frequently turned into just that: eye candy. Uhura (Zoe Saldana) was instrumental in the *attempted* communications with the Klingon, before she was interrupted by the villain, John Harrison (we’ll get to him in a minute). We also saw a new character, Dr. Carol Marcus (Alice Eve), and while she was a minor character, relatively speaking, she wasn’t entirely flat and static. She had some purpose to the plot, and not just another chick for Kirk to chase around.

And then, we have John Harrison (Benedict Cumberbatch). I won’t say his true identity (apparently that was a big reveal? My dad was excited when he found out, so it must hold some importance to the Star Trek universe), so I’ll refer to him as Harrison from now on. First of all, Benedict Cumberbatch’s acting was incredible. I’ve only seen him in Sherlock, but I was thrilled to see that his talent extends beyond Sherlock’s rapid fire deduction skills. And, yes, there was a small bit of fangirling going on (condemn me if you will, but that voice. According to Tumblr, it’s like a jaguar in a cello, and I must agree), but only a little bit before you realize that you’re not looking at Benedict; you’re watching John Harrison, ruthless, manipulative, intelligent, and an all around bad-ass villain. Maybe it’s just me, but I felt that his screen time just wasn’t enough, and I really wish we could have seen more of him. Nevertheless, whenever Harrison was on screen, it was worth that money you forked over for your ticket.

Then, of course, you can’t forget Scotty, Chekov, Sulu, and Bones. They may be minor characters, but it just wouldn’t be the same without them. Scotty was snarky and hilarious, and I’ve always had a soft spot for Chekov, ever since the first movie. Sulu sat in THE CHAIR, and you couldn’t help but smile a bit despite the circumstances. Bones was one of my favorite characters in the first movie, in regards to personality and characterization, and he was still consistent in this movie as well.

As far as plot, there were some fairly easy points to guess. I’m not sure if that’s because I’ve been studying plot more closely as a writer and since starting this blog, but despite the fact that both my dad and me were pretty spot on as to where the plot was heading, it didn’t detract from watching it at all.

Maybe it’s not the movie that will make you stop and think, but it’s a great thrill ride and one I’d gladly take again. There’s a time and a place to just sit back, silence your inner critic, and watch the movie; this is one of those times.

One thought on “Star Trek Into Darkness

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

