Epic – Review

I’ll say this outright: I love animated movies. If I’m having a bad day, or when I’m sick, I’ll have a marathon of all my old animated movies. There’s just a magic in them that fills that little bit of my heart that other movies can’t always fill. So despite their cheesiness or cliche story lines, the chances of me not liking an animated film are pretty slim.

Epic definitely had a bit of the cheese factor in the first fifteen minutes, and at first I was a bit worried about what the rest of the movie held. After the plot smoothed out a bit, the pace picked up and I really was able to sit back and enjoy the story. There was even a part at the end that I didn’t see coming, and put a smile on my face since the writers chose to take the story in a completely different direction than the norm. For the plot, I would give it a 7/10. It was cute, endearing, and if you don’t get really nit-picky it’s a great story.

The graphics were astounding. There were a few closeups of the birds (the ravens in particular), and the way the feathers were individually colored left me in awe. Art boner alert! It really was stunning, and if you watch the movie only once and hate it, at least appreciate the visual feast laid before you.

The characters were likeable, though I would have liked to see a bit more back story, with all of the characters. MK, the protagonist, lost her mother, though we’re not sure how, and that fact is kind of thrown in there as a brief explanation for why she needed to live with her dad. Nod, one of the leafmen, also lost his father, and we’re never given an explanation for that either. An argument could be made that the story wasn’t about the individual characters, and more about their quest to save the forest, but I still would have liked a bit more development, even if it took an extra five minutes.

Here’s another reason to watch the movie, besides the graphics: the music was great! Danny Elfman was the composer, I figured out once I got home, and now it makes sense. I’ve always enjoyed his scores, and this one was right up to par with the others he’s made.

For a final score I’d give it an 8/10, but if I were to look at it critically I’d say a 6/10. It’s a feel good film, and it’s better than some of the others in its genre. I enjoyed it, had fun with my dad, and I’d say that’s all that matters.

4 thoughts on “Epic – Review

  1. Thanks for a great review!
    I haven’t seen it yet, but I’ve been watching the commercials and trying to decide if it was worth a go or not. 🙂

  2. Yeah, I liked the look a lot and it had that sort-of appeal. I really liked Christoph Waltz’ voice acting. Mub and Grub were awesome. “YOUR STORIES ARE SO BORING AND TORTUROUS.” Cracks me up every time. Oh this one’s a bit of a spoiler for anyone reading comments so I’ll do a *SPOILER ALERT FOLLOWS*. I thought the end was a bit strange, how they had MK and Nod trying to maintain a sort-of (romantic?!) relationship… I mean, he’s the size of her fingernail! LOL. *END OF SPOILERS*

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

