An App for Anxiety

Everyone has anxiety. Some more than others, but I’m sure if I took a vote 100% of you would admit that you’ve been stressed or nervous or just generally anxious for no reason at one point in your life. For me, lately, my anxiety has come from a pressure from the looming July NaNo Camp, and the still-unfinished first draft of my other novel.

So – the question is, how do we deal with it? Stress balls, screaming into a pillow, writing in a stream of consciousness just BLHERRGG at an empty page (you know you’ve done it), hitting something, the possibilities are endless. There’s really not one thing that works for every person, but I found something yesterday that might be a step in the right direction.

It’s called Silk, at the website can be found here. There’s also an app for $2.99, and I think it’s worth the small expense. Basically, you just draw vectors in a rainbow of colors! They also have this spa-type music playing, best listened to with headphones. Use this app for five minutes and I guarantee a calm will come over you.

Yeah, it’s childish. I’m attracted to shiny web-like things. I like rainbows.

Deal with it streep

Here are two of my creations:

photo(1)photo

Aren’t they mesmerizing?

3 thoughts on “An App for Anxiety

  1. Wow – really cool! I’m definitely going to check this out. I’ve been thinking of entering Camp NaNo July as well. I don’t work in the summer, so July is a much better option for me than April/November. Don’t know if my outline will be ready in time though! Should I just go for it anyway?

    • Definitely! There’s a certain necessity for pantsing sometimes 🙂 That being said, my one “must-do” when starting a book, whether by pantsing or meticulously plotting, is that you should know exactly what happens at end. You can fudge the beginning and the middle, but as long as you know your final destination then the bits preceding it will fall into line.

  2. That’s amazing! I’ve been suffering from anxiety since Junior High and tried many different methods to get some relief. Some of them work very well, for example meditation and yoga, but this one is really original and useful when you’re not at home 🙂
    Thanks for the suggestion!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

