The To This Day Project

I don’t often listen to spoken word poetry, but this is one that I listen to every morning while I get ready for work. It’s just that good. If you listen to just one poem, make it To This Day by Shane Koyczan.

I came across this video by complete accident: I had just joined tumblr and this was the first post I ever reblogged. I almost scrolled past it, and I’m glad I didn’t. The first time I listened to this poem, I cried. It’s so powerful and passionate and inspiring that I listened to it over and over again for nearly an hour.

You can read more on the website, but the purpose of the poem was to explore the lasting effects of bullying in a person’s life. Through several examples, Koyczan emphasizes the severe effects that bullying has – but it also leaves with a message of hope and perseverance.

If you say that you’ve never been bullied, so the video won’t really apply to you – stop. Remember that sometimes we are our own worst enemy – nothing else needed but your thoughts to weigh you down.

Here’s the video:

My favorite line?

“If you can’t see anything beautiful about yourself, get a better mirror. Look a little closer – stare a little longer – because there’s something inside you that made you keep trying despite everyone who told you to quit.”

Having struggled with low self esteem for a very long time now, I taped this to my mirror. Every day when I’m putting on my makeup or getting dressed, it’s right there in front of me, reminding me to smile and hold my head high, because being ten pounds lighter really will not change who I am inside.

Go watch the video (yes – that’s an order!), and share your favorite line in the comments!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

