The Hound of the Baskervilles

I’m not ashamed to say that I finally got my act together and read a Sherlock Holmes story because I watched the BBC Sherlock. I’ve had the books on my shelf for years, but never touched them until I saw Benedict Cumberbatch portray the famous sleuth. What can I say, I fell in love with the character and wanted more!

The first novel I read from the huge list of possibilities was The Hound of the Baskervilles. Previous to that, I had read the short story A Scandal in Bohemia, and to be honest I enjoyed the short story better than the novel!

The Hound kind of dragged a bit for me, and the story was a bit muddled in places. I also had to keep reminding myself that the book was different than the Sherlock episode! Once I got past that little issue, it was smooth(ish) sailing from there. While the plot was interesting, I wasn’t sure about all of the details and how Holmes figured out whodunit, and had to look it up after finishing the book.

I also preferred the characters and characterization in A Scandal. I can’t really pinpoint why, but it seemed that Holmes was a bit more energetic and extroverted in The Hound. Just an observation, though I might be wrong, but I thought was supposed to be enigmatic and introverted?

In the end, I’ll give it a 6/10. I did enjoy it, but I’m not sure I’d read it again. I think I’ll move on to more short stories, since I seem to like the format better.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

