A Complaint and an Explanation

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been reviewing a lot of classic books lately. Now, I’m a fan of classics, some of them are my favorites, but I’m getting a bit burnt out on them, to be honest! But, I have to keep reading them, because they’re technically part of my job as a teacher!

I mentioned a month or two ago that I picked up extra classes to teach next semester: three to be exact – American Literature, World Literature, and Algebra II. The Algebra is easy: the preparation for that one is a piece of cake and I’ll get it done pretty quickly! The lit classes… well… about nine books for each class, times two classes… That’s eighteen books for me to read (because I like to read every book whether or not I’ve read it before), plus drafting the syllabuses and choosing discussion questions and topics for homework.

It’s even worse when I have all of these waiting for me:

DSC03819

My mom’s comment upon seeing my room: “It looks like a writer lives here!” Guilty as charged!

Let’s list them, shall we?

Book Sound of Music MemeIt’s SUMMER and I can’t read all my lovely “fun” books… It’s heartbreaking! Just a few more “school” books to read…

When I finish my “school” books, which of my fun books should I start with?

8 thoughts on “A Complaint and an Explanation

  1. Ahhh… what a good collection of to-reads you have there! Out of them I’ve read City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, The Host, The Hunger Games, Lock and Key, Sarahโ€™s Key, and Eat, Pray, Love. I recommend them all — all for different reasons! I myself have Outlander, Divergent, Insurgent, City of Lost Souls, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, and Game of Thrones on my shelves waiting to be read. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the books when you finally get a chance to read them ๐Ÿ™‚

    • They are pretty great! Every time I read Mockingjay, I can’t decide whether to love it or hate it. I guess that’s good writing though, because it’s not constant and there’s so many different angles and facets of the book!

  2. Pingback: I May Have a Problem | The Thousand Lives

  3. I agree with you on Mockingjay out of the trilogy it was the worst at least I thought so. Catching Fire was my fav! Sarah’s Key move to the top I read it and loved it, I found myself so taken from both past and present and the way they come together! Loved it. I couldn’t get Divergent just too much going on and I was sorry that I bought Insurgent because I stopped with Div. Veronica Roth’s writing I don’t like. Memory Keepers Daughter is wonderful and so tearful so if you are in the mood for an emotional book that is the one for you. I love the Mortal Instrument Series I read City of Bones and so can’t wait to move on to the rest so can’t wait to hear your thoughts:) I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is great and a classic never gets old. I personally didn’t like reading the Host I don’t like how it was written by Stephanie Meyer, I did kind of like the Twilight series until last book but I want to see The Host movie!!!! I really want your review on the Goddess books because I must admit I stayed my distance only because my reviewer friends that I love that have the same taste as me said the books were a BOMB…. but I would love to hear what your sister likes about them:) Good luck on your list, happy reading weekend.

      • That is great I had my BF do some reviews for me but it was like pulling teeth she loves to read but can’t think of really why she liked the book or didn’t like them. Sorry about the rant above I just keep going when it comes to books, I am a mom that reads too many because I read myself and read middle grade and elem. books to my kids so when it comes to books I can rant on all day.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

