Top Ten Tuesday – Most Intimidating Books

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is an online meme created by The Broke and the Bookish – check out their blog for some great book reviews and recommendations!

Today’s TTT is Top Ten Most Intimidating Books (might be intimidated by size, content, that everyone else loves it but you are sure you won’t etc)

1. The Stand by Stephen King. My dad has been trying to get me to read this one for about two years now, and it’s even sitting on my bookshelf (the unabridged version). It’s just so big! I’m normally not deterred by 1000+ page books… I think it might be the fact that it’s King. I’m always iffy with his books.

2. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. This one is because I’m afraid that the series won’t be as satisfactory as I hoped. I loved Eragon, Eldest was good, and Brisingr I was really on the fence about. I just really don’t want it to get worse, so by not reading it I can pretend that everything’s all right!

3. Dune by Frank Herbert. This is another recommended by my dad, and for some reason I can’t bring myself to read it. There’s this unlabeled block, and I think the only way to get over it is to just read the darn thing.

4. The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper. I read this (if you could call it reading – more like skimming) in high school, and hated it. I have to read it again to prepare for my classes, and I keep putting it off, reading other books before it. I know I’ll have to read it in the end, but right now it’s this looming mountain that I don’t want to climb.

5. Divergent by Veronica Roth. Everyone says it’s so good, and I bought the book (and it’s sequel!) solely based on that fact. I only know that it’s dystopian, and that the characters are Tris and Four (Theo?), but other than that I really have no idea what it’s about. Maybe I need to read the synopsis and I’ll get excited…

6. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. This is so pathetic… I really need to get my act together on this one. I’ve read The Fellowship of the Ring at least four times over, trying to start the series, but always taper off in the middle of the Two Towers. I’ve never even touched the Return of the King. Something always happens that I have to stop reading, and by the time I get back to it I want to start over to keep up with the storylines! One day I’ll sit down and read all three – no excuses.

7. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Two reason for this one. 1) It’s been really hyped up, and I don’t want my expectations to be so high that I’ll be underwhelmed no matter what. 2) I’ve heard it’s a tearjerker, and I’m not sure I’m ready for emotional trauma!

8. The Host by Stephanie Meyer. I feel really bad about this… I don’t mean to be a book snob! I’m just not so sure about the fact that it’s written by Meyer… The Twilight books just really irk me, as far as her grammar and word choice goes, not to mention the story. I don’t want to read eight pages about someone’s breath, eyes, and skin! Sorry, call me rude, call me snobby, but I’m just a little leery of this one.

I only have eight this week – sorry!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Most Intimidating Books

  1. LOTR is on my list too. I can’t tell you how many times I have attempted Fellowship only to stop at around the 30th page.

  2. Very interesting choices 🙂 The LOTR series scared a lot,too xD I received the whole trilogy in one book as a present from my uncle who’s a great reader and it took me an entire year to read all the books. I sometimes stopped reading cause it was too much to bear haha!
    I agree with “The Host” review. I didn’t like it. It’s not a big book but the story is too slow,the writing style heavy and boring. And I don’t like the Twilight books too,especially because they have a bad message,I think.

    • I agree with you about Twilight: some of the messages about relationships were really off for me. My sister liked The Host, and said it was better than Twilight, so I’m sure I’ll read it… eventually.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

