Jane Eyre

Title: Jane Eyre
Author: Charlotte Bronte
Pages: 643
Publisher: Puffin Classics (1994)
Rating: 4/6

I read this book years ago, and loved it. Reading it again, I can see why! Getting used to the different language style took a bit, but after a few chapters I was right back into the poetic voice of Bronte. There’s just a beauty about her writing that’s enticing. I know we don’t talk like that now, and it’d get annoying to try and master their speech, but every once in a while I get on a kick where I want some high brow English. This does the trick!

In the middle, the plot meandered a bit, and I lost interest, but the first and last thirds of the book were spot on. The relationship between Jane and Mr. Rochester is swoon-worthy, and I can’t decide if I want a Mr. Rochester or a Mr. Darcy (sound off with your pick in the comments)! I’ve been leery of romance books lately, because of the hype and trite methods I’ve seen employed, but this was romance – sweep me off my feet and take me away on your horse. My favorite line?

Reader, I married him.

Chills. Little birds taking off in my chest. A smile on my face as I inhaled the last twenty pages. The works.

This is an old fashioned romance, blended with a tale of a woman finding her way as an adult in a society where she has chosen to work as a governess. Definitely a long read, but if you pace yourself it’s worth the time spent.

By the way, Happy Fourth of July for those in the US!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

