The Croods

I was a bit hesitant to see this one, but now I’m kicking myself for not seeing it earlier! This was a cute, endearing, and hilarious family adventure, and the perfect pick for an afternoon with my sister.

First of all, the art and animation was gorgeous. While most of the animals were terrifying if we had seen them in real life, half the time I was leaning over and demanding that I have one as a pet! Their expressions were humanistic, kind of like the carpet in Aladdin – they had emotions, but never even spoke. Plus, that purple sloth (named Belt), was a nice touch, kind of like the minions in Despicable Me. Dun, dun, duunnnn.

The storyline, while a little cliche at times and not so subtle in its themes and lessons, was entertaining. My absolute favorite part was the relationship between the father (Grug) and his mother in law (Gran). It’s a running joke that Grug can’t wait for Gran to die, and I laughed so hard at one point that I cried.

Gran: I’m going to die before we make it to the mountain!

Grug: *smirk* Let’s go.

Overall, it was a cute script with a great family story to go along with it. I give it a 7/10.

Brooke’s Thoughts:The movie was a great way to spend the Saturday afternoon. It had you laughing through most of the movie while still having enough family and action scenes to balance it out. I love the animation of the movie and thought the different animals the creators dreamed up to be quite adorable. Great family friendly movie and I would definitely watch it again.

I give the movie a 7.5/10.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

