Top Ten Tuesday – Movie Adaptations

TTT BannerToday’s TTT (hosted by the lovely ladies at The Broke and the Bookish) is Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations. I’ve kept it pretty much 50/50 as far as best versus worst. 

Best Adaptations:

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part II. Other than the very final scene with the Elder Wand (which we shall not speak of here), I loved this movie from minute one. And the soundtrack is HEAVEN.

2. Holes. It has the same charm as the book, and I think this is the only film in which I appreciate Shia LaBeouf’s acting.

3. The Hunger Games. I actually liked the movie better than the book, as I explained here. Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss was spot on, and I actually liked movie Katniss better than book Katniss.

4. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. The book has been one of my favorites for years now, and I’ve always felt that the movie did it justice.

5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Yep – another Narnia movie. Even though there were some changes, I didn’t think they detracted from the movie at all or deviate too much from the book.

6. The Hobbit. Contrary to popular opinion, I’m absolutely thrilled that Peter Jackson has split the book into three movies. I loved the first movie, and while I do have reservations about the next one due to the increased involvement of the elves (and the addition of Tauriel), I’m still excited.

Worst Adaptations:

1. The Great Gatsby. You can see my full review of the movie here, but I greatly disliked this movie for several reasons. The only aspect I liked was Elizabeth Debecki as Jordan Baker.

2. Eragon. Ugh. I can’t even list the million reasons why this movie was horrid. I did like Saphira’s animation, but that’s it. Oh, also Garrett Hedlund as Murtagh. For reasons.

3. The Lovely Bones. I’m really conflicted about this one, because I loved the movie. As far as its faithfulness to the book, however, it did deviate quite a bit. So, it’s horrid if you only count how spot on it is with the book, but the changes were for the better in my opinion.

4. Treasure Plant. Copy my whole explanation from The Lovely Bones. The book is just so dry… And I do love me some Disney. Also, I do believe Jim Hawkins was my first cartoon crush. i still find him attractive.

And that concludes this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! See you all next week (or tomorrow, if you like my regular posts)!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Movie Adaptations

  1. I would like to offer you an internet high-five for the Treasure Planet bit. Jim Hawkins was my first cartoon crush as well. I’ve been wanting to read Treasure Island… But it’s more like wanting to want to read it. I’ll get it done someday!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

