The Titan’s Curse

Title: The Titan’s Curse
Author: Rick Riordan
Pages: 312
Genre: YA, fantasy, adventure
Publisher: Disney Hyperion (2008)
Rating: 4/6

Synopsis from cover: When Percy Jackson receives an urgent distress call from his friend Grover, he immediately prepares for battle. He knows he’ll need his powerful demigod allies at his side; his trusty bronze sword, Riptide; and . . . a ride from his mom.

The demigods race to the rescue to find that Grover has made an important discovery: two new powerful half-bloods, whose parentage is unknown. But that’s not all that awaits them. The Titan lord, Kronos, has set up a devious trap, and the young heroes have just fallen prey.

Hilarious and action-packed, this third adventure in the series finds Percy faced with his most dangerous challenge yet – the chilling prophesy of the Titan’s curse.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: I really enjoyed the previous installment in this series, Sea of Monsters, but The Titan’s Curse just wasn’t as stunning. It was good, but not great. I felt like it was the slump in the middle, and a set up novel for the rest of the plot arcs that will be resolved in books 4 and 5. Kind of how The Half-Blood Prince was the set-up for The Deathly Hallows (my opinion – knock it if you want but nobody will convince me otherwise). By the way, possible spoilers ahead if you haven’t read the first two books in this series.

What did I think about the characters? I still love Grover, Percy, and Annabeth (even if she was absent for a good part of the story) – Riordan has continued to develop them and increase their maturity with each book – and their individual voices are still very unique. There were several more characters introduced in this book, and I felt a bit overwhelmed, and most ended up not getting the screen time I would have liked in order to get to know them better.

First, we have the brother-sister team, Bianca and Nico DiAngelo. Bianca to me was a filler character, and I didn’t have too strong of an emotional connection to her. Nico, on the other hand, I’ll let slide because I know we haven’t seen the end of him and I’m sure his character will be developed later on.

Zoe Nightshade, one of the Hunters of Artemis, was my favorite character of the newly introduced peeps – she was the most developed and I felt a stronger bond to her by the end of the book.

And then, we have Thalia. She had so much promise – so many ways that she could have been played, but I kind of felt like she was left at the wayside and picked up when needed again.

And the concept and plot? Concept, as usual, is fantastic. Love me some Greek mythology! The plot was, as I said, solid, but not stunning. There was just a lot going on with all of the different characters’ backstories that they became jumbled at times and reduced themselves in importance.

The main story arc, which has been carried through all three books so far, is still strong, and has progressed well in my opinion.

What about the writing style? Sorry for another HP reference, but as this series progresses, it becomes darker – much like the HP books. There’s still the element of humor – most notably a running joke while the group is at the Hoover Dam:

“Let us find the dam snack bar”

“I could use some dam french fries”

“And I need to use the dam restroom”

“I want to use the dam water fountain”

“I want to buy a dam t-shirt”

I wasn’t laughing out loud like with the previous two books, but I did smile a few times. This book was definitely more serious and foreboding: something’s coming up for these characters (and I really hope I don’t end up not liking it). You know, the rise of the Titan Kronos and the end of the world. No biggie.

Anything else you’d like to add? Ah, not this time. (Kayla’s done talking? Mark this date on your calendar, folks)

FYI: if you plan on purchasing the book, I recommend buying the box set from Amazon. It’s $20 for all five in the series (paperback), and even if you don’t like the series you end up saving oodles of dollars because buying them individually is about $7.50 for each. You can find the boxed set here.

4 thoughts on “The Titan’s Curse

  1. I love the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series! 🙂 Yeah, I agree with you, the Titan’s Curse definitely wasn’t as awesome as the others :/ I think my favorite might’ve been the Battle of The Labyrinth or The Last Olympian.
    The Heroes of Olympus (the series that comes after Percy Jackson) is pretty good too! Actually, I think the Heroes of Olympus books are actually better than the PJO series 🙂

      • Well, Rick keeps the CHB bunch, but he introduces a whole new pack of demigods! Percy doesn’t appear in the first book (The Lost Hero), but in the second book (Son of Neptune), he finally comes in 🙂

      • Son of Neptune… Is there more Roman mythology in that series? Neptune being the Roman version of Poseidon. Or did Riordan just mix it up and say Son of Neptune instead of Son of Poseidon?

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

