The Last Olympian

Title: The Last Olympian
Author: Rick Riordan
Pages: 381
Genre: YA, fantasy, adventure
Series? Yes – book five of five
Publisher: Disney Hyperion (2011)
Rating: 5/6

 

Synopsis from cover: All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of victory are grim. Kronos’s army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan’s power only grows.

While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging monster Typhon, Kronos begins his advance on New York City, where Mount Olympus stands virtually unguarded. Now it’s up to Percy Jackson and an army of young demigods to stop the Lord of Time.

In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling series, the long-awaited prophecy surrounding Percy’s sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: This was a very satisfying end to this series. Even though I was cursing Riordan’s name (in quite foul language that didn’t match up with this series) half the time, I really have to hand it to him. Well done, Riordan! Possible Spoilers Ahead.

What did I think about the characters? Freaking heartbreak. I think Supernatural has ruined me: I kept thinking these characters are going to come back. THEY DON’T STAY DEAD, RIGHT?? Wrong. Dead is dead. Some of my personal favorites were killed off, but I will *grudgingly* admit that Riordan didn’t make it so unbelievable like a million other series where all of the characters live happily ever after even in war. So, A+ for realism, F- for screwing with my emotions. Maybe I’ll bump it up to a D because of the happy ending. [I kid, mostly. I loved all the characters to death – oh god. Bad pun. Now I’m crying again.]

And the concept and plot? Even though the majority of the book was one long battle, I was never bored or skipping ahead to the better parts. It was well written, and had a lot of credibility in the fact that it wasn’t the Camp Half Blood kids wiping out the Titan army. For a good portion of the book, it seemed that the Titans would win. The one nitpick I’d have is the involvement of the Titan Typhon – for being such a “holy crap he’s alive and back we’re all going to die” presence, his plot-line was wrapped up pretty easily and suddenly. 

What about the writing style? I think it’s a sign of a good writer when I say that I was laughing while I was crying. It was like a balm: “Here, let me entertain you with my wit while I rip out your heart and sprinkle it over the remains of your favorite characters.”

Anything else you’d like to add? While it’s not as universal for readers of any age as Harry Potter, at eighteen I still enjoyed this series. Maybe someone a bit older might not be interested, but for my age and younger, it’s an entertaining story that I blew through in six days (yes – six). Of course, I say this for the general public. It doesn’t really matter how old you are – what matters is how old you want to be. I’ll be reading Harry Potter when I’m on dialysis and I’ve got dementia so bad I’ll try to curse the nurses. “Don’t you come near me with those needles, muggle!”

FYI: if you plan on purchasing the book, I recommend buying the box set from Amazon. It’s $20 for all five in the series (paperback), and even if you don’t like the series you end up saving oodles of dollars because buying them individually is about $7.50 for each. You can find the boxed set here.

5 thoughts on “The Last Olympian

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

