Pacific Rim

I finally saw it! My one sentence review: This movie is everything I love from Transformers (the huge machines in epic battles), but without the unnecessary romantic subplot. Seriously: this was just an all out smack down between machine and alien, and I loved it.

As far as a substantial, mind-bending plot, there was none. It was just really amazing CGI and fights that were tactically senseless and a bit like those Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em robots my dad used to play with when he was a kid. If you start to take a moment and ask if there was a more efficient way to defeat the Kaiju (alien invaders – huge amphibious creatures with phosphorescent mouths and blood) than using the Jaegers – stop right now. Don’t go on the Pacific Rim discussion boards either. Just enjoy the movie: two plus hours of adrenaline and beat downs.

It was gorgeous.

Most of the time I was forgetting to not root for the Kaiju (just as I forgot to not root for the Decepticons) because they were just so freaky looking that I was mesmerized. The neon glowing stuff was beautiful. On the plus side, whenever a Jaeger took down a Kaiju, it was pretty! Just ignore the fact that their blood is toxic. You know… minor detail.

I take back my statement from three paragraphs ago: there were some small plots, focusing mostly on the relationships between the characters. My favorite was the father/son team that piloted one of the Jaegers, but the relationship between Raleigh (the main character) and Mako (another MC) was well done too. The best part about all of the interpersonal issues is that they never clouded the main storyline. AND: NO FORCED ROMANCE. Allow me a moment of celebration.

The Best EmmaAnyway, I loved this movie. Hands down. I give it an 8/10, because I was so entertained. I have no illusions about the fact that there were plot holes and technological impossibilities, but I didn’t find it to be too hard to ignore them. I’ll definitely be buying this one on Blu-ray for the stunning graphics!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

