Wreck-It Ralph

For a while, I didn’t want to see this movie, thinking it was stupid and childish. I was wrong!

First of all: the geek inside me was squealing. All the little noises and character cameos from old video games made my day! I’m sure I missed half of them, but from what I did catch, it was like a throwback to my childhood. Which was only a few years ago, but still… I loved Sonic and Mario and Pac-Man, back when I had my Nintendo 64, and then Game Cube. I had the horrid displeasure of going to Game Stop with a friend yesterday only to find that they don’t sell Game Cube games or consoles anymore. To say that I was a little heartbroken (and feeling very old for an 18 year old) would be an understatement.

Anyway, this movie has that old charm that seems to be a bit lacking lately in the newest Disney or Pixar movies. It was a fun adventure, but there was a depth to the story as well. Most of the themes were woven into the plot in a way wasn’t preachy or overt: they were subtle and touching, and at all the right moments.

Plus, Vanellope Von Schweetz. I have found my new favorite animated character. She’s spunky, individualistic, and snarky. A character that celebrates being true to yourself and appreciating who you are, despite disabilities or quirks. Plus, she wanted to execute everyone. My kind of girl! Just kidding: she let them live.

A great family movie (or even if you’re an adult watching it by yourself – no shame!), and I definitely recommend this one! I give it a 9/10 – now I have another movie for my combined movie/book wishlist.

2 thoughts on “Wreck-It Ralph

  1. I didn’t want to watch Wreck it Ralph at first too! I thought it would be cheesy and annoying, but it definitely wasn’t.
    Vanellope was AWESOME! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

