The Espressologist

Title: The Espressologist
Author: Kristina Springer
Pages: 184
Genre: YA, fiction, matchmaking
Series? No
Publisher: Square Fish (2011)
Rating: 3/6 –  I liked it

Synopsis from cover: What does a medium iced vanilla latte really mean?

Seventeen-year-old barista Jane Turner has this theory that you can tell a lot about a person by their regular coffee drink. She calls it Espressology. So it’s not a totally crazy idea when Jane starts hooking up some of her friends based on their coffee orders. Then her boss, Derek, makes it an in-store promotion, promising customers perfect matches for the price of their favorite coffee. Things are going better than Derek could have ever hoped, so why is Jane freaked out? Does it have anything to do with her best friend, Em, dating Cam? She’s the one who set them up! She should be happy for them, right?

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: As I typed that title and had to slowly spell it out, I realized that it’s probably pronounced “espresso-lo-gist” not “express-all-o-gist”. My whole life has been a lie. How do you even pronounce espresso in the first place? (This is yet another example of why I should stick to writing and not speaking)

In other news, this book literally made me squeal in the end. It was so cute I just… d’awwww!!! It melted my insides and put such a big smile on my face that I completely forgave any grudges I had against this book.

What did I think about the characters? I wasn’t so sure about the characters 2/3 (about 100 pages) of the way through the book, but the last 1/3 picked up. They’re not extraordinarily developed, but enough for this kind of book. I could at least tell the different characters from each other. Although I do have a question: how does saying “bloody” when you’re angry qualify you for having a British accent? That was an odd quirk, but at least I remember the character I guess. The love interest, Cam, was sweet, and he was the one who picked my original rating of  1 all the way up to a 3.

And the concept and plot? The concept is what drew me in: when have you ever read a book about matchmaking based off of coffee drinks? I haven’t, that’s for sure. It was an Amazon bargain book ($3.60, count me in!) so I wasn’t too worried about giving it a shot. 

The plot was quickly paced, and while I would have liked a bit longer to get to know the characters, I think the length is good enough. It was a quick read; nothing substantial or life-changing, but a cute little book that put a smile on my face and helped me relax.

What about the writing style? At first, I was a bit put off, because the style was a bit more slang filled than I’m used to. No – slang isn’t the right term. Maybe relaxed – like we speak in real life. Except I don’t speak like that, so it’s a bit odd to get used to, at least for me. (This is all a personal problem and you probably shouldn’t take it into account if you’re looking to buy this one.) 

Anything else you’d like to add? I still can’t figure out how to pronounce the title. It’s really freaking me out. In other news, I drink a nonfat, no whip, decaf white chocolate frapuccino/mocha depending on the weather, or vanilla rooibos tea if I’m feeling healthy (read: calorie conscious).

6 thoughts on “The Espressologist

  1. You over think words like I do! I read a word and then I get all up in my head and can’t work out how it should be pronounced. I do this with my own name.. I sometimes get weirded out by just how it should be said (Kathryn) and I get a little messed. Okay, maybe I’m worse than you are 😛

    This book sounds cute. I’m a white with one kind of girl. I wonder what that says about me?
    Considering the book is around the price of a cup of coffee – I think I’ll check it out. Great review!

      • It just means a flat white coffee with one sugar 😛 I’m fairly simple in my coffee tastes. And I can’t stand any caffeine after midday or I’m up ALL NIGHT 😛 Definitely no shots of expresso for me

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Could Have (and Wanted to!) Read More | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

