Deeper We Fall

Title: Deeper We Fall
Author: Chelsea M. Cameron
Pages: 270
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Series? Yes – #1 in the Fall and Rise series
Publisher: All Night Reads (2013)
Rating: 4.5/6 – I really liked it!

Synopsis from NetGalley: Two years after her best friend was involved in a car accident that caused a traumatic brain injury, Lottie Anders is ready to start her freshman year of college. Ready to move on. Ready to start forgetting the night that ripped her life apart.

Her plans come to a screeching halt when not one, but both brothers responsible for the accident end up back in her life again.

Zack is cruel, selfish and constantly rubbing what happened to her friend in Lottie’s face.

Zan is different. He listens to her awkward ramblings. He loves “To Kill a Mockingbird” as much as she does, and his dark eyes are irresistible. His words are few and far between, but when he does speak, she can’t help but listen.

The trouble is, Zan was the driver in the accident, and now Lottie’s discovered he lied to her about what happened that night. Now she must decide if trusting him again will lead to real forgiveness, or deeper heartache.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: I could complain about how I don’t like multiple perspectives in first person. I could gripe about how I wish the plot had kicked off a little quicker instead of taking 75 pages to mull in the collective sorrow caused by the car accident. I could whine about the fact that I felt Cameron relied on a few too many stereotypes. But I’m not going to. Because this was a really good book, and despite its flaws I almost cried because it was over. Possible Spoilers Ahead. 

Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of Deeper We Fall from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

What did I think about the characters? By the end of the book, it was like these characters were my babies. I was so emotionally involved in their lives, and I really felt something. Cameron made me empathize with these characters – all while making them believable and real. The characters were all distinct from each other, and while I’m not a fan of multiple first person POV, I could still tell who was speaking, even if there hadn’t been an indication in the chapters.

I loved the relationships between all of the different characters – love or hate, they were all concrete and established, and all very different. It wasn’t the same dynamic with each pair of characters; they all had their own struggles and conflicts depending on who they were interacting with.

And the concept and plot? Concept: It was good, and I especially liked the twist. Usually in stories like this you’ll see that a drunk driving incident ends in death, leading to survivor guilt and whatnot, but Lexie survived – with a traumatic brain injury. The TBI, originally predicted to render her comatose, left her with mood swings, poor memory and balance, and a steadily declining condition. She beat the odds, can walk and talk, but the effects are a constant reminder of what happened that night. I thought it was a really powerful reminder that even if drunk driving leaves survivors, there are still casualties, just of another sort. 

Plot: It took a while to get off the ground, lingering for a while on the emotional and physical impact the accident left, even after two years. Even so, during those chapters all of the characters really developed and showed who they were. Other than that, the romance developed at a believable pace. This was another one of those couples that I was just screaming at because they’re just made for each other and I wanted so badly to see them together because they complete each other. Basically, I was swooning over fictional characters’ love lives. What’s new?

What about the writing style? It’s very current, which can be good or bad. Good, because I understood all her references (Harry Potter, Imagine Dragons, Mumford & Sons, etc.), and bad because ultimately they will be out of date and harder to connect to. But, that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, and all the little references helped in my connection with the characters. 

Anything else you’d like to add? This is one of those books that despite the flaws you might be tempted to shred apart, it’s still such a good book because you become so entrenched in the story. It’s entertaining, and made me feel something, and sometimes that’s more important than having a flawless final product.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

