Jenny Rat

Title: Jenny Rat
Author: Martin Simons
Pages: 297
Genre: fiction, adult
Series? No
Publisher: Martin Simons (2013)
Rating: 0/6  – I couldn’t finish it

Synopsis from cover: Jenny, a young girl who has been sexually abused since childhood and now brutally assaulted, has been reduced to utter despair. She is saved by a reclusive, shy young man, Michael, twenty eight years old, who stumbles across her dying in the gutter outside his isolated house. He is a brilliant consultant engineer who works from home with his computers, rarely venturing outside. Profoundly shocked he gets her to hospital and visits her there as she struggles to recover. Mentally she is shattered. He is greatly shaken by the intrusion into his settled life but, full of compassion cannot abandon her. She recognizes in him a hope of refuge and determines to live with him. He welcomes her. They pretend to be sister and brother but this cannot last. She has great talents as a sculptor. He encourages her, providing tools and materials as she grows, constructs and reconstructs her works and her life. She begins to chip at him as she shapes her art. He is compelled to expand outside his self-imposed solitude. She attends school and brings friends to the house. A crisis develops which they overcome with difficulty.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: I never thought the day would come that I purposely not finish a book. To give you an illustration, I was talking to my mom and told her about it, and she asked, “Are you feeling okay?” I feel really bad about it, but I just did not like this one at all… I made it through 60 pages before I finally gave up.

Disclaimer: I received a free ebook copy of Jenny Rat from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

What did I think about the characters? Well obviously I can’t give you an entire picture of who these characters were, but from the 60 pages I read, there isn’t really much to say. They were all very flat, only identified by their profession or life circumstances. Jacquie – the prostitute. Michael – the reclusive engineer. Jenny – the street rat turned prostitute. There was nothing of substance about them.

And the concept and plot? Concept: I initially thought this would be a story of rising from the ashes, regaining control of your life circumstances, you know – an inspirational sort of book about reclaiming your life. Not at all. It was dreary and depressing, and I found myself skimming the pages frequently. 

Plot: After what I read, nothing really had happened. I don’t know if it’s just a slow start, but the extent of what I read was Michael talking with Jenny at the hospital.

What about the writing style? Honestly, I felt it was far too crass. There were a lot of F-bombs, and several uses of the C word as well. It relied on name calling and expletives, and I didn’t ever feel like the dialogue was anything fantastic. 

Anything else you’d like to add? The only way I can describe my experience is that I was expecting more Jodi Picoult and a lot less Stieg Larsson. With Picoult, there’s always a sense of intimacy, and a real connection to the characters, like they’re actual people. With Larsson (and his Millenium trilogy) I always felt like the characters were pawns in his political statements, like tools rather than characters. Simons is a totally different author, but the comparison is the only way I can put it into words!

Sorry to be such a debby downer, but I couldn’t find anything redeeming in this one.

5 thoughts on “Jenny Rat

  1. Wow – now and then I think we all come across a book like this one. I’m going to check out NetGalley. Sounds like a site I blogged about today called Story Cartel. I love your reviews. Keep them coming!

  2. Pingback: Review: Cities at Sea by Martin Simons | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

