Angelfall

Title: Angelfall
Author: Susan Ee
Pages: 283
Genre: Post-apocalyptic, fantasy, YA
Series? Yes, #1 of Penryn & The End of Days
Publisher: Amazon Publishing (2012)
Rating: 6/6 – WORDS CANNOT EXPRESS MY LOVE

Synopsis from cover: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister, Penryn, will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where Penryn will risk everything to rescue her sister, and Raffe will put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: This is it. This is the book I’ve been waiting for for the last eighteen years and thirty two days of my life. I will try to contain myself, but beware: fangirling ahead.

What did I think about the characters? Let me admit something right now: I’ve got a thing for dudes with dark hair and light eyes. And I’ve got a borderline-creepy thing for angels. So when you give me a dark haired, blue eyed angel… Oh lordy. It’s even better than an Elven archer. Sorry, Legolas.

Meet Raffe: enigmatic, powerful, snarky, confidence, driven, and passionate. I know I’ve whined about the dark, tragic male hero in the past, but this is how it’s done right, folks. What balanced out the stereotype was the fact that despite the fact that Raffe is an incredibly powerful supernatural being, he’s still impressed by Penryn. He never looks down on her as just a petty human. She defends him, and he returns the favor. It’s a give and take relationship, perfectly balanced and never co-dependent.

Then we have Penryn. LOVE THIS GIRL. She’s just so… normal. She doesn’t always have a witty response, with half the time her best retort being something along the lines of “your face is [fill in the blank].” She never rockets into the realm of “I’m a perfect YA protagonist, check me out as I maintain emotional composure, kick serious angel butt, and look fantastically hot while doing it all.” She gets greasy and dirty while she searches for Paige – it’s never glamorous or easy. Even her back-story makes so much sense, it just fits. With a paranoid schizophrenic mother who sees demons all the time and fears she might target her children, Penryn is placed in self defense classes at an early age, which explains her ability to fend for herself in the new world – not just “picking up some skills” the moment the sky falls.

If you can’t tell, I loved these characters. I never think “oh I wish I could see this from his/her point of view,” but sign me up for Angelfall from Raffe’s point of view!

And the concept and plot? Concept: Angels. Need I say more? I’ve always been fascinated by angels, and the apocalypse. This book was like a wrapped up present that’s been waiting all these years for my eager hands. I seriously feel like it was written for me. Everything on a checklist, marked off and put into this book. 

Plot: I’m so sorry not sorry, but I’m going to gush some more. The whole thing was perfectly paced, and I never felt like it was taking too long to get to a point or rushing through a scene either. And the cliffhanger?? OH MY GOD.

What about the writing style? This is another personal thing, but the way Ee writes is with color. She uses it to describe the scenery, which is a given, but also to identify emotions and mood and atmosphere. Color is how I identify a lot of things in my own life, so to find a writer that communicates in that same manner is like finding a long lost soulmate.

I’ll try to explain: it’s like you have this feeling, but you can’t quite put it into words, but you just see a cool aqua. Smooth and calming and a bit mystical. Like listening to some metal music will make me see steel and black and some reddish tones, but the Lord of the Rings station on Pandora makes me see all shades of green and silver. 

I probably failed at explaining this, and you’re probably thinking, “what’s wrong with this chick??” Carrying on.

Anything else you’d like to add? I cannot wait until November 19th. World After, the second book in the series, picks up right after the enormous teaser of an ending for Angelfall. When I finished the book, I kind of may or may not have had a fit and wound up curled in the fetal position. What’s new about that, though?

Finally, to Susan Ee, regarding World After:

Give it to me nowThat’s all. (Seriously – go buy this book. It’s like $5 on Amazon right now. I command it!)

10 thoughts on “Angelfall

  1. Your wish is my command. This is a book that I’ve heard only good things about. And every time I see it in stores I’m so tempted to buy it and see what everyone is talking about. I don’t like angels very much but style always makes up for that. Great review! And am moving it up my to-read list.

  2. I love this review! “Let me admit something right now: I’ve got a thing for dudes with dark hair and light eyes. And I’ve got a borderline-creepy thing for angels” had me actually laughing out loud, because I am pretty much the same.
    I love Penryn’s real-ness, and it is pretty much the reason why I am in love with this novel. I loved reading about a normal teenage girl (even if I am not one any more – cue sobs about turning 20).

  3. Pingback: A-Z Bookish Survey | The Thousand Lives

  4. Pingback: Review: Water by Terra Harmony | The Thousand Lives

  5. Pingback: Review: Water by Terra Harmony | The Thousand Lives

  6. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday: World After | The Thousand Lives

  7. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

