Silent Echo: A Siren’s Tale

Title: Silent Echo
Author: Elisa Freilich
Pages: 330
Genre: Fantasy, YA, romance
Series? No
Publisher: Diversion Books (September 2013)
Rating: 0/6 – I couldn’t finish it

Synopsis from NetGalley: Haunted by silence, a mute teenage girl is mysteriously given back her voice … and it is divine.

Rendered mute at birth, Portia Griffin has been silent for 16 years. Music is her constant companion, along with Felix, her deaf best friend who couldn’t care less whether or not she can speak. If only he were as nonchalant about her newfound interest in the musically gifted Max Hunter.

But Portia’s silence is about to be broken with the abrupt discovery of her voice, unparalleled in its purity and the power it affords to control those around her. Able to persuade, seduce and destroy using only her voice, Portia embarks on a search for answers about who she really is, and what she is destined to do.

Inspired by Homer’s Odyssey, Silent Echo: A Siren’s Tale is an epic story filled with fantasy, romance and original music.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: This is bad, so bad. I’m having a serious crisis right now! I hate giving out bad reviews, and it’s even worse when I DNF a book. And this makes it two in one week that I gave up on. I did make it through a solid 1/3 of the book before giving up though, which makes it about 100 pages that I read.

Disclaimer: I was given a free ebook of Silent Echo from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

What did I think about the characters? All of them were cliche and stereotypical, at least to me. Portia and Max’s relationship was really hard to believe, and I’m not just saying that because I was vying for Felix and Portia to get together. Max was the tortured background/music guru sexy boy that every teenage girl is supposed to like, but I just couldn’t even begin to like his character at all. Felix was the only one I remotely liked, but then he turned into the “over protective and unnecessarily aggressive” trope. 

And the concept and plot? Concept: It was great! I was 100% excited for this book –  you guys know how much I love Greek-based novels. But apparently I missed over the sentence in the synopsis where it says “her newfound interest in the musically gifted Max Hunter.” That should have tipped me off to the romance part of it all. 

Plot: Great concept, poor delivery. Portia’s lack of a voice and sudden discovery that she has one takes a backseat to the romance with Max. And it’s not even a believable romance! One look, and they’re head over heels for each other. I don’t know how the story ended, but I know that the “fantasy” part of it was just a cart for the romance.

What about the writing style? Just weird… Nothing inherently bad about it, but Freilich kept interspersing her prose with clips of songs (and poorly written ones at that). They were really cheesy and what little suspension of belief I could have for everything went right out the window. 

Anything else you’d like to add? I’m a horrible person. I might need to re-read Harry Potter to calm my distraught self. Two books DNFed in one week… The horror!

2 thoughts on “Silent Echo: A Siren’s Tale

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

