Top Ten Tuesday: Could Have (and Wanted to!) Read More

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels (they were complete stories but you just could have read more and more about these characters or set in that world)

I would have loved to read more of:

1. Left Drowning by Jessica Park. I just finished this one two days ago, and haven’t even put my review up yet, but it was just so incredible. I’ll save my gushing for later on, but I could have easily continued reading about these characters. Maybe a novel for each main character after the events of Left Drowning? Hey, Jessica Park, get on it!

2. Harry Potter by JK Rowling. Let’s just get this one out of the way right now, yeah? I told you it would show up on most of my lists. While there is a part of me that says to just leave Harry with these seven books, and enjoy them as they are, the truth is that I would inhale any new material from Hogwarts.

3. The Espressologist by Kristina Springer. You can read my review here, and while I wasn’t raving about the book, it left off on a really sweet note, and I would have loved to see the developing relationships that only budded in the final page.

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I loved the ending, but I could have easily followed Charlie’s story, at least through the end of high school!

I don’t have any more to list, because a lot of the books that I’ve really enjoyed recently are series! Hooray for me! Anyway, I’m going to put my own spin on this topic and tell you about some series that I wish would have stopped after a certain point.

5. The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I loved Eragon, and still do. I approached with caution for Eldest, and begrudgingly trudged through Brisingr. I still haven’t touched Inheritance. Paolini relied on too much deux ex machina and really random plot points that seemed like they were pulled from the stratosphere, and my rabid love for his series quickly waned.

6. The Program by Suzanne Young. I loved this book, as you can read here, but ultimately I think a stand-alone book would have been strong enough on its own. (Of course I’ll still buy all the sequels – I’m not that snobby!)

7. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. It’s the same situation as the Inheritance Cycle. Lisbeth Salander is one of my top ten favorite female protagonists ever, but I feel like her incredible character was overshadowed by the political grumbling of the later two books.

8. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare. This one is entirely unfounded, since I haven’t even read the second book. But, with as many books as there are in the series (I think the sixth is coming out next year?) it can very easily derail and lose its chutzpa. I’m just hoping this doesn’t happen, because I purchased the entire series and they’re waiting on my shelf.

So there we have it – only eight this week. Sorry! Comment below and share your lists so I can check them out!

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Could Have (and Wanted to!) Read More

  1. Totally agree with you about Harry Potter! It’s hard because the risk is creating something redundant or not as good as those seven books, but that series made my childhood and my first teenage years absolutely fantastic. So I feel a little confused about that xD

    • Yes! Any follow-up might not be able to meet the expectations after the original series, and then we’d all be left with a sour taste that would mar the most beautiful ending to a series I’ve ever read. And that would probably be the worst thing that could ever happen in my book-reading world!

  2. I’m intrigued by the Jessica Park book — I tried to read her “Flat Out Love”, but I found it wordy and boring. She seems to be a very popular author, though. Maybe I’ll give her another chance. Love coming here for book recommendations! Thanks.

    • Left Drowning was my first I read from her, but it was just released so maybe she’s honed her writing style since Flat Out Love? Or maybe it’s just because I love lots of description and length doesn’t bother me too much 😀

  3. I love the spin! I think there are many books that I shouldn’t keep going. But they do because they know they’ll sell. But there are times when the stories should stop. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – maybe it’s because for the most part I’m politically ignorant but I really didn’t get the point of the second two books.

    And the Mortal Instruments! I love that you haven’t read the second book but still aren’t shy to express your opinions regarding future books 🙂 You’re very honest and I like that.
    For me – The Hunger Games. I enjoyed the second book but by book three… it shouldn’t have gone there or at least not quite like that.

    Great list! 😀

    • I don’t think it’s political ignorance – we read so that we can escape! Why would we want to bring in all the world’s nasties when we need a dose of fantasy?

      Oh God, don’t get me started on Mockingjay. I don’t think I’ve ever felt such a blend of love and absolute hatred towards a book. I’ll never write a review for it because my opinion changes every time I read the darn thing!

      • I’m not going to read it again. Once was enough. And it’s one of those ones where the epilogue really made me angry. I just.. felt really bad for her children and for Peeta. She didn’t even give us the names of the children she was that disconnected from them and it just made me sad.

        I think I’ll live in my fantasy land where Mockingjay never happened. Annie and Prim run a B&B where Rue cooks apple pies. And Finnick has a fish and chip shop next door. And Peeta had a giant cake shop and calls himself the Cake Boss 😛

  4. YAY for Harry Potter! I would buy any book that promised Hogwarts in a second! Did you know that J.K. Rowling actually wrote a much longer epilogue but her editor made her shorten it! What is that?! Great list!

  5. I need to get on reading Left Drowing. I love Jessica Park and it’s been on my tbr forever and I was so excited and I keep putting it off and I don’t know why. And yes. There should always be more HP.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

