Sky’s End

Title: Sky’s End
Author: Lesley Young
Pages: 415
Genre: Sci-fi, NA, romance
Series? Yes, #1 in the Cassiel Winters Series
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing (July 2013)
Rating: 3/6 – I liked it

Synopsis from Amazon: A secret she must never share. A secret that two warring species are determined to control. A universe’s future at stake.

Twenty-year-old Cassiel Winters joins Earth’s new space academy in hopes of finding her brother, one of Command’s top pilots and her only family, who’s been reported MIA. But she quickly realizes she may not be cut out for life in space, where female cadets are outnumbered, competition’s fierce, and she’s already failed her hand-to-hand combat test once.

Even the station’s most respected officer, Lt. Damian King, probably can’t help Cassiel pass the second time around-so why is he so interested in her progress? If only one of her freaky déjà vu visions would offer an answer instead of mysterious messages like hide.

When Cassiel’s manipulated into a perilous mission, she encounters a warrior species bred to protect the universe from an even greater threat. And she learns that her secret visions are at the heart of it all.

Now Cassiel must fight to control her own destiny and race to save her brother-even if it means pretending to be the pawn of Prime Or’ic, the cold-as-steel Thell’eon leader. Even if it means risking her life, facing hard truths, and making the ultimate sacrifice.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: I don’t think I’ve ever been so divided by a book. I swear, while I was reading it, I was simultaneously rolling my eyes and having a fast heart rate because I needed to know what happened next. This is a serious issue for me. I want to say so much that I hated it, and assign a 1 star rating, but there was a part of me that really liked it – a lot. I’m so confused!!! Possible Spoilers Ahead.

Disclaimer: I was given a free ebook of Sky’s End from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

What did I think about the characters? Let’s just get the minor characters out of the way first. Damian King was flat, necessary, and the stereotypical “I’m your brother’s best friend so I’m going to protect you now that he’s missing but oh no I fell in love with you along the way!” Que my annoyance and facepalming. HOWEVER, I adored the other love interest, Or’ic. He was humorous in a dark/strange way, a capable leader and confident, and he tried so hard to make Cassiel feel at home, even amongst the Thell’eon race, and to try for her affections in the human ways that she expected. He didn’t try to woo her with Thell’eon customs, he reached out in the way she understood it best. HOW IS THAT NOT LOVE PEOPLE?? Ugh. I swear Cassiel was blind this whole book.

Which brings me to my rant on Cassiel. First of all, throughout the first 1/4 of the book, she was complaining about how tight the suits were, and how there were so few females on the ship that all the guys were staring at her “headlights” because they were horn-dogs. BUT THEN, throughout the rest of the book, Cassiel’s only thought was trying to get it on with one of her three love interests! THREE. And honestly – no one is that horny. Seriously. Never mind the fact that she discovers she can travel through space and time. Nooo that’s not important at all! What about your missing brother? Nah, he’s fine. No worries. And she’s so needy and irresponsible and whiny that I just wanted to scream, “You are twenty one years old and a cadet in the military!!! Shape up woman! The world does not revolve around you!”

I feel better now. A little bit. Sorry for the caps lock.

And the concept and plot? Concept: Holy moley this is why I was so split with this thing! The cultures that Young created, especially with the Thell’eon race, was so intriguing I was actually pissed when Cassiel escaped captivity because I just wanted to learn about them some more. I don’t care about you stinkin’ humans – give me aliens! 

Plot: Well-paced, and obviously it pulled me in enough that I finished all 400 pages even while hating Cassiel and the writing style (below.)

What about the writing style? Meh. Cassiel had the voice of a fourteen year old girl, but I’m not sure if that was a result of the way Young wrote. There were several moments where Cassiel said, “Okay, let’s recap,” and would list the events that I just read two pages ago. There was liberal use of parenthetical asides, and it really interupted the flow. About halfway through the book, I turned off my inner critic and stopped paying attention, focusing only on the bits I did like. 

Anything else you’d like to add? I really liked the plot and concept – loved it, in fact! But the characters and writing style… I just

In other news, I’ll be setting up a GoodReads profile within the next day or so! Finally… I know. I’m always a bit slow to the draw. Anyway, I’ll give out the link to my profile in my few posts!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

