Catching Fire

Title: Catching Fire
Author: Suzanne Collins
Pages: 391
Genre: Dystopia, YA, futuristic
Series? Yes, #2 in The Hunger Games series
Publisher: Scholastic (2009)
Rating: 6/6 – New favorite! 

Synopsis from cover: Sparks are igniting. Flames are spreading. And the Capitol wants revenge.

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped created.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: This is my fourth or fifth time reading the book, but I figured since the movie’s coming out soon, I could share my thoughts with you all! I had actually forgotten how much I love this book – it’s my favorite out of the three. THG was solid, but something about CF puts it above the first book. I think it’s because my favorite character is introduced in this one. And I can’t decide how I feel about Mockingjay, even after reading it three times.

What did I think about the characters? I’ve griped about Katniss in the past, saying that she’s too weak, she’s selfish, and a bit heartless at times. Reading this book again showed me how wrong I was. Maybe she is selfish at times, and weak, but honestly, who wouldn’t be in her situation? She’s so real. So, my apologies to Suzanne Collins for throwing a fit over your very well-written, rounded, believable character.

And now I’m going to take a moment and fangirl over Finnick Odair. He is my absolute favorite character out of many, many series, because he’s not just a pretty face. We talk a lot about how female characters are just there to look pretty, and don’t have any substance, but we never say the same thing about male characters in the same situation. Finnick is gorgeous, but he’s shown to be so much more than that. He’s witty and intelligent and caring, and I’m going to shut my mouth now because I’ll start talking about Mockingjay and then I’ll cry. But, yes. Finnick Odair. That’s all.

And the concept and plot? The concept is great, as with THG, but the plot in this was was a lot more layered. More information about the rebellion and the Capitol is revealed, but there’s also a lot of questions left at the end. I think it’s an understatement when I say that Collins has mastered the art of cliffhanger endings. 

What about the writing style? Can I have a halleluiah chorus for the lack of focus on the love triangle? It’s mentioned, but it’s not the focus of the book. THAT is how a love triangle is done, folks. 

Anything else you’d like to add? Was this what you had pictured when reading this scene? Because this is not what I had pictured.

Oh and check out this pic I found while searching for the above:

Like holy cow this is exactly how I pictured them. (Is that Garrett Hedlund? Because that was my casting for Finnick before Claflin got it. And they better not screw up with Annie.)

Find the book at:

Amazon (paperback): http://www.amazon.com/Catching-Fire-Second-Hunger-Games/dp/0545586178/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376847023&sr=8-1&keywords=catching+fire

Barnes and Noble (paperback): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/catching-fire-suzanne-collins/1100296850?ean=9780545586177

Book Depository (paperback): http://www.bookdepository.com/Catching-Fire-Suzanne-Collins/9781407109367

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6148028-catching-fire

2 thoughts on “Catching Fire

  1. Catching Fire is my favourite of the three too… although considering my less than happy feelings about most of Mockingjay….

    And oh my! I’d not seen Finnick before. He’s my favourite character. I’m so excited for the movie.

    Great review – I like that you mentioned how since rereading your opinions have changed since the previous times you read it 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

