Revew: Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton

Title: Some Quiet Place
Author: Kelsey Sutton
Pages: 331
Genre: Paranormal, romance, YA, supernatural
Series? No
Publisher: Flux (2013)
Rating: 4/6 – I really liked it

Synopsis from cover: I can’t feel sadness, anger, or fear. I can’t feel anything. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions… she sees them in human form. Longing hovers around the shy, adoring boy at school. Courage materializes beside her dying friend. Fury and Resentment visit her abusive home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, except beautiful Fear, who sometimes torments her and other times plays her compassionate savior. He’s obsessed with finding the answer to one question: What happened to Elizabeth to make her this way?

They both sense that the key to Elizabeth’s condition is somehow connected to the paintings of her dreams, which show visions of death and grief that raise more questions than answers. But as a shadowy menace begins to stalk her, Elizabeth’s very survival depends on discovering the truth about herself. When it matters most, she may not be able to rely on Fear to save her.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: This book should be proof that you always need to walk at least twice through the YA section before leaving the store. I went through Barnes and Noble once, then something pulled me back to look just once more. Lo and behold, I spotted this one on the very bottom shelf, tucked away in the paranormal section (which I usually skip over). The Lesson: Never Leave Without Checking Twice. BE SANTA. 

Possible Spoilers Ahead.

What did I think about the characters? Elizabeth was really hard to connect to, at least for the first half of the story, before she started to open up a little bit, but in this case it was a job well done on Sutton’s part. A girl with no emotions should be hard to empathize with, right? In the second half, though, everything started to pick up, and I latched onto Elizabeth’s new found emotion like a barnacle.

Then we have the two love interests. When I bought the book, I didn’t know there was a love triangle, so it was a bit of a surprise. BUT, it was actually pretty well done! There wasn’t any angst, at least related to the triangle. Elizabeth came to a very clear realization, and it was refreshing to see a YA protagonist make her mind up for once.

So we have Fear, and then we have Joshua. Joshua is the sweet, compassionate, boy-next-door type. So, he is a bit flat, because he relies a lot on that archetype. In addition, he serves more as a plot piece rather than a love interest, but he plays that role well. He was sweet, and definitely a guy you’d want as your best friend.

But I’ll also be honest and say that I preferred Fear, hands down. He was enigmatic and powerful, so he had that whole vibe going, but he showed pretty quickly how intensely passionate and protective he is for Elizabeth. She may not show emotion, but he certainly does, and he carried the emotional story for me for the first half of the book. Plus, he rocks a black trenchcoat, white hair, and electric blue eyes. Now tell me that’s not hot.
Lady with squirt bottleAnd the concept and plot? The concept is thrilling. Being able to see emotions? That’s the main reason I picked up this book. And it was well executed too! It actually reminded me of this tumblr post I saw ages ago. 

And the plot… well I can’t say quite as much about it. It was a good story, and I liked the twists and turns in the second half, but the pacing was a bit off for me. It was like the first three quarters was the long uphill climb on a roller coaster, and the last quarter was the downhill at eighty miles an hour. This was a good and a bad thing: good because I felt the urgency of the situation, but bad because I felt like everything was wrapped up a bit too quickly. Like there was all this suspense and build up, but then it fell a little bit flat. Not to say that it wasn’t a solid plot, but I think if we had hit the climax a bit earlier, I would have given it a 5 instead of a 4.

What about the writing style? Ugh, gorgeous. Can I marry prose? Is that a thing? It should be a thing. Just look at this clip (my favorite): 

Fear has a bright facade and dark insides; he’s horror and a windy recklessness that carries millions over the plains with no hope of ever stopping. And Courage… he’s dark on the outside but carries a light within: he’s calm and encouraging and his very breath is a soothing dash of water on a hot, hot day.

Simply breathtaking.

Anything else you’d like to add? While I think there were a few plotting/pacing issues, overall I really enjoyed the book. It took a few chapters to really get into, but I’m glad I stuck with it, because this is one hidden gem I’m glad I found!

Oh, and I finally decided to brave emotional trauma and read The Fault In Our Stars. We’ll see how that goes.

Find the book at:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Some-Quiet-Place-Kelsey-Sutton/dp/0738736430

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/some-quiet-place-kelsey-sutton/1113557692?ean=9780738736433

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Some-Quiet-Place-Kelsey-Sutton/9780738736433

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15710557-some-quiet-place

One thought on “Revew: Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton

  1. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

