Secondary Saturday: Annie Cresta

Secondary SaturdayAs I try to figure out the best schedule for my posts, the only day I didn’t have something consistent to post was Saturdays. I don’t like uncertainty, so I decided to take it into my own hands and create my own feature/meme. Thus, Secondary Saturday was born!

I do have to give credit here and thank The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday topic (Top Ten Favorite Secondary Characters) from this week for the inspiration.

The idea for SS is to showcase your favorite secondary character, from any book, movie, or tv show. Too often the main characters are the only ones praised, and we miss out on a lot of fantastic personalities! What would Harry Potter be without the twins? Would the Hunger Games be the same without Prim’s influence on Katniss? Even Twilight has it’s shining secondary character in the form of Alice Cullen – the only reason I’ll read the books/watch the movies anymore.

So once a week, I (and hopefully you, if you want to join in) will pick a character I feel deserves some more love and share them with you!

Anyhoo, if you want to join in, there’s just a few things I request that you do:

  • You can use the banner, just credit it back to me
  • Mention me somewhere in your post as the creator of the meme, and give a link to my blog
  • Have fun with it! This is the time to bring out your babies and demand that they get just as much attention as the first child!
  • Show off your dream casting (or contest/fangirl or fanboy over the actual casting if the book’s already been adapted)
  • Share some of your favorite quotes and moments with the character
  • Like I said, go crazy! Make it a full character profile or just give an honorable mention 🙂

So without further ado, I present to you the very first SS subject: Annie Cresta!

This is Stef Dawson, who was cast just a few days ago to play Annie in the Catching Fire and Mockingjay movie adaptations of The Hunger Games. She’ll change her hair, I’m sure, but just look at those eyes and skin. Is that not how you pictured Annie? A little bit fragile, soft and delicate, but there’s something deep in the eyes. Perfect casting! I thinks Dawson was the first one cast who I wholeheartedly supported.

Annie was, to me, one of the driving forces behind many of the events in Mockingjay. Honestly, her influence is even felt in Catching Fire. She was mentioned only once or twice, but once we understand who she is, it explains so much of why Finnick is the way he is. Plus, she’s a great reminder that you don’t have to be a fierce warrior or expert strategist to impact everyone. She was like the quiet wind that caresses rather than the tornado that was Johanna or Katniss. And then there’s the fact that she makes Finnick happy, and if he could have had nothing else I just wanted Finnick to be content. Their love was the most beautiful part of the third book, and honestly I will probably be a big ball of tears when I see Mockingjay: Part II in theaters.

Hope you enjoyed my new thing, and next Saturday I’ll be back with another character!

2 thoughts on “Secondary Saturday: Annie Cresta

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

