Review: Water by Terra Harmony

Title: Water
Author: Terra Harmony
Pages: 279
Genre: New Adult, Sci-fi, fantasy
Series? Yes, #1 in the Akasha Series
Publisher: Patchwork Press (20110
Rating: 4/6 – I really liked it!

Synopsis from NetGalley: Elemental powers in the palm of her hand, and it won’t be enough to save her. Involuntarily introduced to a life of magic, Kaitlyn becomes part of an organization hell-bent on saving the Earth. Just as she starts to adjust, the organization divides and a rogue member holds Kaitlyn hostage. Now one of the most terrifying men the human race has to offer stands between her and Earth’s survival.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: I’ve been a fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender since it first premiered in 2005 (and subsequently an impatiently-waiting-for-season-two fan of its sequel, the Legend of Korra), so a book about people controlling the four elements is right up my alley. And I’m super happy to say that not only was the concept pleasing, but the actual story and writing was great too! Possible Spoilers Ahead.

Disclaimer: I received a free ebook of Water from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

What did I think about the characters? Ohhh the love abounds! All of the characters were pretty distinct in their personalities, and it didn’t take the entire book to flesh them out either. Kaitlyn was reliable as a narrator, and I found her to be very believable in her reaction to everything. She had the right balance of “What the heck is going on” and “Okay, this is my new life, let’s roll with it.” We didn’t have to read through a hundred pages of indecision and moping, which was a welcome change of pace from what I expected.

The supporting characters were surprisingly three-dimensional as well. I’m looking forward to seeing more of Alex, the only human of the group and a combination of fun, sarcasm, and protectiveness. Susan was more of a motherly character, and she added the needed maturity and warmth that the cast of characters needed. Shawn was adequately creepy, and he’s one of those characters that I hate unequivocally – like Umbridge.

And then there’s Micah. I’m really torn on him, and he was really the main point of the book that rubbed me wrong. He started out incredibly perfect, but halfway through the book he turned into Edward Cullen levels of “protectiveness.” It was pretty creepy at times, and he became really controlling and borderline abusive towards Kaitlyn at the end. I really hope it evens out in the later books, because I genuinely did like Micah’s character before he went bonkers.

And the concept and plot? Anything to do with elemental powers, I’m in. It’s like… a book kink, to put it bluntly. Just like dark-haired, light eyed angels. Hopefully I didn’t just creep you all out. Moving on!

The plot was well-paced, and it felt evenly balanced before and after the climax. The world-building was quickly yet efficiently done, and I didn’t feel like I was speeding through anything. It didn’t feel cliche either! All in all, a genuinely good concept and a solid plot.

What about the writing style? Ah, I love me some descriptions. It wasn’t overly filled with adjectives, but just enough that I knew how I should be picturing it, and I filled in the rest. Harmony writes in an engaging and gripping fashion, and oh my wow that cliffhanger left my jaw on the floor! Well, the couch, since that’s my reading place. 

Anything else you’d like to add? The only thing I’m conflicted about is whether I want to buy the boxed set on Kindle, saving $6, or buy them individually so I can have the separate files. I have a feeling I’ll end up buying them one by one, because I really hate boxed sets for Kindle.

Find the book at: (The Kindle and Nook versions are currently free!)

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Water-The-Akasha-Series-ebook/dp/B005PY2U8Q/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=8-1&qid=1377810772

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/water-terra-harmony/1106186164?ean=2940032862376

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Water-One-Akasha-Series-Terra-Harmony/9781477630983

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12755985-water

2 thoughts on “Review: Water by Terra Harmony

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

