Top Ten Tuesday: School Books

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top 10 Contemporary Books That Would Be Great Paired With A Required Reading Book (like Perks of Being A Wallflower with Catcher in the Rye) OR Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools.

Now this list might be a bit different from yours, because everyone’s schooling experience is different, right? So what I’m going to do is pick a book that I wish was taught in school (be it high school or college), and then give an image of what sort of class I’d picture it being in. To be perfectly honest this is going to be me creating a whole list of electives that I didn’t get a chance to take because online college has a limited class list and the fanciest class we got was a Children’s Lit course that I didn’t even get the chance to take because I needed a 300-400 class level to graduate and it was only a 200 level.

Clearly, I’m still bitter. Anyhoo, here we go!

1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Ugh, so many topics to choose from for this book! Technology in science fiction, creative license in the form of 6-year old military super geniuses, moral and ethical decisions in war, etc. I could go on, but I’ll refrain.

2. Any John Green book. I haven’t read all of them yet, but from what I can see from Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, Green writes teenagers like I’ve never seen before. I think it’d make a great feature for a class on YA lit!

3. The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. For all I know, it might already be used in some classes, but in my high school Harry Potter (and Twilight and Pokemon and several others) was banned from campus. An entire semester dedicated to studying the life lessons and themes and overall magic that is HP.

4. Eragon by Christopher Paolini. Teaching a lesson on how to create awesome non-human characters (IE Saphira) and also how-not-to-continue-a-series because there-is-such-a-thing-as-too-much-complicated-deux-ex-machina-lore-and-it’s-a-huge-series-turn-off.

5. Any Dystopian book. As part of a Poli-Sci course or something like that, to illustrate how despondent we are about the future and that this is the only thing we see for future generations.

6. White Fang by Jack London. Mostly because I loved this book as a child and re-read it at least once a month because I was enamored with dogs. But also because it showcases the intelligence of dogs and the loyalty they have for their human.

7 & 8. My Sister’s Keeper and Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult. As part of a ethics in medicine kind of course. I’ve never felt so conflicted  after reading a book about what’s right and wrong!

And now I’ll go with the first half of the prompt, and pick a school book to go with another book.

9. Huckleberry Finn and The Help. I know they’re in entirely different time periods, but they both combat the you-must-have-been-high-to-think-this concept that people of color are less than a whole persons.

10. To Kill a Mockingbird and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Though the protagonists are two different ages, the books highlight that innocence and growth as a young adult and the trials that we all experience.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: School Books

    • They’re not in libraries??? Sorry for my ignorance, I’m not a huge fan of libraries (that’s a long post for another day). I loved all three of those books and probably would start crying if I couldn’t find them!

    • Ugh, can you imagine the possibilities?? One week dedicated to finding your Patronus, a week to focus on the character development of Neville Longbottom, oh and now I’m fangirling again this makes me so excited! I will fly anywhere in the world to take a class like that.

  1. I did my topic like you did, with Ender’s Game on my list as well and The Hunger Games. I read To Kill a Mockingbird in high school, but we didn’t get too in-depth with discussing it unfortunately,

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

