A Very Informal Review of the City of Bones Movie

I had the weekend off of work and since my mom and sister were already heading into the town where the movie theater is, I tagged along and finally saw the City of Bones movie!

It’s a thirty mile trip, there and back, and to be honest I’m just too lazy and/or poor to pay for the gas, which is why it took me so long to get out there and see the thing.

Anyway, I didn’t feel like writing a formal review for this one, so this will be more of my opinion rather than an in-depth analysis. What I really wanted to do was live tweet (yes – I’m addicted already!) my immediate reactions, but people look poorly on texting movie-goers. C’est la vie. So here’s my collection of 140-character-ish length thoughts. Oh, it’s also uncensored, which means there may or may not be a spoiler here and there. I don’t feel like being subtle today.

  • Holy crap the trailers. Oh my god. Oh god. THOR. About Time. Catching Fire. The Book Thief. I fangirled so hard before the movie even started. I should be embarrassed, but I’m not.
  • That’s Luke? Not how I pictured him… Okay, I can work with this. Wait – is that Aiden Turner? KILI!!!
  • Those are some creepy eyes. I don’t even feel bad that you’re about to die.
  • Damn Isabelle. Can I have that whip? And that dress? I hope that one day I can look as sexy as you while killing beasties.
  • *dead* The most perfect Jace to ever Jace – Jamie Campbell Bower A++++ casting!
  • Clary Fray stop being so rude to your mother. My God.
  • Ohhh psycho-writings. Excellent. Let’s get this show on the road!
  • Wait, I don’t remember this happening in the book. Why is there a dog?
  • Oh wait… Oh my god will I be able to sleep tonight?
  • WHYY SO CREEPY THIS IS THE STUFF OF NIGHTMARES
  • KILL IT. KILL IT WITH FIRE AND POUR ACID ON THE BONES.
  • You go Jace. Can I get a comforting hug too?
  • Also, I’d like to go to the institute. I see demons too *wink wink*
  • Wow, this is moving really fast. Was the plot this condensed in the book?
  • I think I need to go back and read the book.
  • Yeah I really need to re-read the book why are we already at the Silent Brothers?
  • Creepy creepy creepy eyeless mouthless dudes but those are some awesome voices!
  • Okay, cool beans, let’s go see Magnus. This should be good!
  • Ahh I forgot about your distaste for pants wow that’s embarrassing I didn’t need to see your boxers dude.
  • Wait, what? Stop talking. MAGNUS. STOP TALKING. YOU LOOK PERFECT BUT YOUR VOICE DOESN’T MATCH.
  • Y U NO MYSTICAL AND ECCENTRIC. MAGNUS. STAHP.
  • Yeah you look all broody just think about what you’ve done and I hope you improve in the next movie.
  • Oh poor Simon. That looks a lot worse than being a rat. Yeesh. At least there’s a chain around his chest and neck… Less pressure on your shoulders buddy. Now you don’t have dislocations to deal with! Who needs air anyway.
  • Cue badass fighting scene. I would totally turn for Isabelle. Another A+ casting!
  • IT BURNS I’M MEEELLTTINNNGG I’M MELTINGGG. Die bloodsuckers!
  • Wait, are those vampire bites? I know that didn’t happen in the book?
  • What? We’re not going to address that? Okay… plot point abandoned? I guess?
  • Jace Wayland you sexy bastard.
  • STOP PLAYING LOUD CRAP MUSIC WHILE I’M WATCHING MY OTP MAKE OUT.
  • DAMMIT THIS SONG SUCKS.
  • Please I just wanted some soft sweeping violins not an electric guitar solo.
  • Oh my god they’re laughing how adorable and lifelike SEE TWILIGHT IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT PASSION AND SEX.
  • Okay this scene was a lot better in the book. Jace… I’ll love you forever!!! Don’t run away!
  • Clary you just screwed up
  • Ohh awesome CGI right there that’s exactly how I pictured it in the book.
  • Clary, it’s gone. Waving your hand won’t help.
  • There you go reach into the book.
  • Voila! New power!
  • Okay let’s go see the witch. I remember this part – time to find a tarot card!
  • She looks like me when someone’s chewing gum. *twitch twitch* WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU STOP THAT RIGHT NOW *turn into a demon*
  • I didn’t mean it oh my god haven’t you traumatized me enough I’M NOT GOING TO BE ABLE TO SLEEP TONIGHT
  • Alec I’m sorry I don’t even feel bad that you were stabbed. I hated your casting and I think your character was entirely misrepresented.
  • Magnus can I have your coat? At least you have a sense of fashion.
  • Nooo don’t give it to Hodge. Clary you’re being stupid just calm the heck down girl!
  • Run Forrest run! “Clary, I am your father.” “NOOOOO.”
  • Ugh this part made my head hurt even in the book is Jace Clary’s brother or not???
  • I guess I should read City of Ashes.
  • Nah.
  • Okay maybe.
  • A+ acting Jamie that’s exactly how I pictured it! Four for you Jamie Campbell you go Jamie Campbell.
  • THERE YOU GO ISABELLE JUST LIKE I SAID BURN THEM WITH FIRE YOU FREAKING BEAST WITH THREE TANKS OF FUEL
  • Wait, did Hodge just die? Did that happen in the book?
  • Ugh, I need to re-start this series.
  • Ohh cool power Clary but Dumbledore’s already got you beaten with that spell.
  • DOOOON’T STOP. BELEEEEVIN! HOLD ON TO THAT FEEEELIIIN! You know you’re not siblings don’t even lie to me fools just kiss already.
  • Clary, if you don’t get on the back of that motorcycle I will.
  • Damn you. Just ride off into the sunset with all my feels and shipping chasing after you.
  • *curtains*

Well, that was exhausting. I hope you enjoyed my melodramatic fangirling! Long story short, I loved Jace and Isabelle, Clary was okay, Simon I liked, but Alec and Magnus I disliked greatly. Especially Alec. I don’t know why but I pictured him as less bulky and more lithe??? Like a serpent rather than a charging boar?? And Magnus, I’m not even going to speak. Fix your voice, dude. It was a solid adaptation: more faithful than Percy Jackson but if I remember correctly not entirely on par with the book.

I’ll return tomorrow with a *hopefully* more mature review of Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always by Elissa Janine Hoole.

What were your thoughts on the TMI: COB movie adaptation? Anything in my above madness truly speak to you?

2 thoughts on “A Very Informal Review of the City of Bones Movie

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

