Review: MORE by T.M. Franklin

Title: MORE
Author: T.M. Franklin
Pages: 253
Genre: YA, fantasy
Series? Yes, #1 in the MORE trilogy
Publisher: The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House (2012)
Rating: 6/6 – It’s a new favorite!

Synopsis from NetGalley: Ava Michaels used to think she was special. As a child, she fantasized about having magical powers . . . making things happen. She felt different from others her age, and just knew she was meant for something important. But, like most kids, Ava grew up and eventually accepted the fact that her childish dreams were just that, and maybe a normal life wasn’t so bad after all.

Now a young college student, Ava begins to wonder if there were more to her childhood fantasies than she thought. She’s haunted by terrifying nightmares of a frightening man chasing her, determined to catch her, to take her—a huge hulk of a man with one blue eye and one green. Even during daylight hours, there are moments her hair stands on end with an uneasy prickle of awareness . . . and she just can’t shake the feeling that she’s being watched.

Unable to decide if she’s imagining things or just plain crazy, Ava finds an unlikely ally in Caleb Foster, a brilliant and mysterious man who comes to her rescue as a Physics tutor, but in reality has another mission in mind. What he shows Ava challenges her view of the world, shaking it to its very core.

The thing is, Caleb’s not quite what he seems. In fact, he’s not entirely human, and he’s not the only one.

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Now they’re after her, bent on her capture or maybe even her extinction.

Fighting to survive, Ava has to depend on Caleb to lead her through the strange new world opening up before her. A world of magic and mystery, where she learns she’s not
actually normal . . . she’s not even just special.

She’s a little bit more.

My Initial Thoughts/Rambling: I think it took… oh… I don’t know… One chapter? Before I was sucked in completely and INHALED the rest of this book, PLUS the sequel (which I’ll be reviewing tomorrow) in about twenty four hours. I love this series, and will be buying paperback copies as soon as I can!

Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of MORE from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

What did I think about the characters? For a moment, I thought Ava would be one of those “Oh I knew the whole time I was special even as a child look at me now fools” but in reality it was more like “Oh crap I didn’t really mean it what do you mean I’m not completely human??” It was awesome. After realizing what she was and the truth about Caleb, she’s still afraid and a bit reluctant, but that doesn’t stop her from doing what needs to be done. That’s what I loved about Ava the most: she didn’t have blind rashness – she had courage, which is 10X more important.

And then Caleb. Yet another has been added to my Literary Boyfriend list. I think I could be classified as a chronic cheater by now. First of all, praise circle for Caleb glamouring himself in the human world and actually picking a less obtrusive image, not the standard hunky swoon-worthy Fabio appearnace. And by that I mean praise the Lord for a glasses-wearing boy because oh hot damn with his slightly-awkward yet well-meaning personality Caleb is still swoon-worthy. And he treats Ava like she’s a capable human being, not his human charge that he has to be overly protective of – most of the time it’s Caleb trailing after Ava, not the other way around.

The secondary characters were fantastic as well. Tiernan and Katherine were intriguing, and still a bit mysterious at the end of the book, so I can’t wait to see how they develop in the next book. I lie – I already know how they develop and I can promise you that they only get better!

And the concept and plot? World building ahoy! I love it when magic is explained by science, so I was right on board with the ideas Franklin used to explain the fantasy elements of the story. Using more than 10% of your brain and all that jazz. It made a lot of sense (just like with the way magic was explained in the Sorcerer’s Apprentice movie), and not at all an easy way out.

The plot was fantastic too: paced just right and with enough exposition to give me a good sense of what’s going on and establish relationships with the characters before heading into the unknown. There was a great balance between calmer scenes and action scenes, so I never felt too rushed or too slow.

And then I just need to say one more thing that deserves its own paragraph: I cannot express how incredibly happy I am that Franklin took Caleb and Ava’s relationship slowly. It was so organic and realistic that I felt their love through the pages. It was genuinely sweet and romantic, not fast with burning passion. This is a romance that I’ll hang on to and ship till the end of time. Caleb + Ava = OTP.

What about the writing style? Well, not much else I can add here unless I want to repeat myself. I loved everything about Franklin’s writing!

Anything else you’d like to add? Buy this book! And then come back tomorrow for my review of its sequel, The Guardians!

Find the book at:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/MORE-T-M-Franklin/dp/1612131239

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/more-t-m-franklin/1113130460?ean=9781612132365

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/More-T-M-Franklin/9781612131238

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13562109-more

One thought on “Review: MORE by T.M. Franklin

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Spotlight + Interview + Giveaway – The Guardians by TM Franklin | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

