Top Ten Tuesday: Book Adaptations

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As A Movie/TV Show (set in a perfect world…in which movies don’t butcher the books we love.)

Oh dear… How am I ever going to manage to fill this one out? I mean… I can’t think of a single one!

I lie. I could write a list that stretches to Scandinavia for this topic. I’ll try to keep it to ten!

1. Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I just had to take a moment of silence for this book’s adaptation. Prayer circle for another one that does it justice!

2. Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. Another prayer circle for a proper adaptation. No complaints about Logan Lerman though!

Okay, now to the actual business of picking books.

3. The Five Ancestors series by Jeff Stone. A bit of childhood nostalgia here. My favorite out of the seven were Snake and Crane, and while on GoodReads I found out that Stone is writing another series! I think I would raise the ages a bit, just because I shipped Seh and Hok so hard but they’re thirteen so that’s creepy.

4. The Wizard Heir by Cinda Williams Chima. I couldn’t care less about The Warrior Heir’s adaptation, I just want to see Seph’s story on the big screen!

5. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. I think there’s a lot of promise for this one to be a life changing tearjerker. I’ll bring the tissues as long as they give me good casting!

6. Sia by Josh Grayson. I know I just read this one, but I’m 100% ready for it to be a movie already!

7. More by T.M. Franklin. My review for this book is coming up tomorrow, and I can’t wait to share how amazing it is! It shot right up onto my favorite series list.

8. The Guardians by T.M. Franklin. The second of the trilogy, right after More. I think I like this one even better than More!

9. Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton. Just for the pure desire to see Fear on screen. I don’t even know who I’d cast for his character, but I can assure you that I’m more than willing to devote the time to get the perfect actor!

And finally…

10. ANGELFALL BY SUSAN EE.  Can you just imagine Raffe? Bring out the defibrillators folks. I don’t know how many more lists I can put this one on, but I promise to find the limit, or die trying!

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Adaptations

  1. Will you haze me if I say I actually liked the Eragon, and Percy Jackson films? Haha. Granted, I haven’t read the books, so I don’t know how much they may have butchered the story. But I know how you feel, if that is the case. So much hatred for book butchering when it comes to movie adaptations!
    I don’t know if I am allowed to tell you or not (I apologise to Josh if not), but Sia already has a screenplay written 😀 So your dream may just come true yet, Kayla.
    RAFFEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. Seriously. If they cast him correctly, I would just die of … love/lust/whatever. Seriously. I want this movie (if it’s done perfectly, that is). I cannot believe I forgot about this book for my TTT! D:
    My Top Ten post 🙂

    • No hazing here! I really did like the movies, but they just aren’t similar to the books at all, you know? I’d love to see one where they actually follow the book’s plot!

      And I did see that Sia was being turned into a screenplay (not sure if it was on Josh’s blog or twitter, but I saw it somewhere!), and I’m SO EXCITED DYING.

      I think I would lust, then fangirl, then love, then lust all over again. Repeat as necessary until death from feels.

      • YAY! 😀 I swear most movie adaptations take the basic concepts of the book, and change everything else. It actually really annoys me.

        Okay, good, didn’t want to be sharing state secrets, haha 😛 I would definitely watch the movie, and I haven’t even read the book yet! It just sounds like an amazing story.

        Hahaha, I will join you in those feels.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

