The Liebster Award (Again!)

This last week I was nominated not once, but twice by two lovely bloggers for the Liebster award! First of all, check out these lovely ladies and their blogs:

And now to the award-accepting portion of this post! The Liebster award is to acknowledge other bloggers and put a bit of a spotlight on them so others can follow their greatness. The nominator will give the nominee ten questions to answer, and then the nominee will present ten other questions to their own nominees! Now that I’ve sufficiently confused you, let’s get to the questions:

Jasmine’s questions: (she didn’t pose any so I copied the ones she was asked)

  1. What are you currently reading? I’m in the middle of reading The Deepest Blue by Kim Williams Justesen
  2. What is/are your favorite books of all time? Well this is a horrid question. Ugh. I’ll go with Ender’s Game, Angelfall, Harry Potter, and The Chronicles of Narnia. But there are so many more it’s not even funny!
  3. How did you come up with your blog name? It’s that quote from George R. R. Martin. I was originally going to have my blog called “A Thousand Lives” but that was taken, so it became “The Thousand Lives” and it kind of stuck 🙂 Now it’s really grown on me!
  4. Who are your top three book boyfriends? Well I might leave some out because I have a horrid memory but right now my top three are Peeta Mellark (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins), Fear (Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton), and Kyle (Sia by Josh Grayson)
  5. Do you have a favorite book quote? Too many to count. But one that’s been on my mind recently is “It is our choices that make us who we are, far more than our abilities.” Albus Dumbledore. Oh, and Jasmine’s was far sexier than mine. *fans self* Apparently now I need to read Shatter Me for Aaron Warner.
  6. Do you have any personal memes on your blog? I tried Secondary Saturday for a while, but gave up on it. I prefer to join in on others’ 🙂 Maybe I’ll try again in the future!
  7. If you could meet any author, past or present, who would it be, and why? JK Rowling, no questions asked. That woman is my childhood, and a huge influence on my life, now and for the future.
  8. Have you any bookish pet peeves? Love triangles. Gah! Also, gay characters. And now let me stand on my soapbox for a moment: If a character is gay, cool. No judgement here, get on with your bad self and whoever you choose to be your romantic partner. BUT, don’t let your sexuality define you. Just as I don’t find my identity by being straight, please don’t write characters whose only identity is being gay. It is possible to have a well rounded gay character without making it such a big deal/problem in the book. See: Alec in The Mortal Instruments, Captain Jack Harkness in Doctor Who, and Tyler in Teen Wolf. More Jack and Tyler, but you get the gist. Nobody questions Jack’s sexuality because it just is; there’s no buts or ifs about it. It makes it so much easier to accept a gay character – because usually I find that they’re only used for “diversity” and “look how progressive of an author I am!” /steps off soapbox
  9. What are your favorite genres? Fantasy, science fiction, and contemporary fiction. I DON’T like mystery, horror, or slasher type stuff. NO THANK YOU. I’ve also started dabbling in paranormal, if I can find a good one that isn’t dominated by romance. *coughtwilightscaredmeawayfromthegenrecough*
  10. If you could be a character from any book, travel to any world, who would you be? Where would you go? And (again from any book) who would you bring with you? I… I can’t answer this question. I just can’t do it. Wait – I lie! I want to meet Hermione Jean Granger so badly it hurts. So much hurt. *curls up in pain because I will never get my Hogwarts letter* Leave me alone to die.

And now for Lillian’s questions:

  1. Is there a book that you tell people you’ve read but honestly have not? Hmm… Not that I can think of, actually!
  2. If you could trade places with any famous person for one day, who would it be? JK Rowling. Just because I want to be inside that brilliant mind of hers and bask in the glory of her imagination and creativity and hope some of it rubs off on me. 
  3. What is your most frustrating book-related pet peeve? See #8 above in Jasmine’s questions 😉
  4. If you could change one event in the history of fiction, what would it be? You know, I wouldn’t change anything. If I’ve learned anything from all the time travel books I’ve been reading, it’s that time is a fickle thing. I wouldn’t just be changing that event, I’d be changing the entire course of history. And 1) I don’t want that kind of responsibility, plus 2) everything happens for a reason, and I’m not infinite enough to understand why. I just know that time isn’t something to be meddled with. 
  5. What is your guilty pleasure? As far as books go, I don’t really have one. I refused to be ashamed by what I read! But for tv, it’s The Bachelor, and music is Taylor Swift. 
  6. Which is your favorite season? I assume you mean weather, in which case my answer is WINTER ALL THE WAY BABY. GIVE ME PEPPERMINT MOCHAS, FIRE, SNUGGLING (ew no don’t touch me), AND SWEATERS. 
  7. Which fictional character do you relate to? Hermione Granger. Dismissed because of my “nerdiness” and “ew why do you want to read so much wouldn’t you rather be outside?” and “that’s creepy how much you memorize about all those tv shows and books – you’re not an encyclopedia” and “you seriously graduated college at 17? Yeah right, it’s just your associate’s degree. You don’t really know what a bachelor’s requires.” Ah, check yourself son. I did my 123 credits, thankyouverymuch. *still bitter about those naysayers* I think Hermione could both empathize with me and comfort me. 
  8. If you had to choose one genre (like world building, emotional realistic) to be stuck reading your entire life, which would it be? I would have to say fantasy. Any kind of fantasy. Sci-fi can get depressing at times, and is always a bit rooted in reality. If I’m going to be stuck with one kind of book, I better be able to lose myself completely.
  9. Name five books you’d recommend to turn one into a book- lover.  Harry Potter – it counts as one. The Chronicles of Narnia. Angelfall. The Fault in Our Stars. Sia. BONUS! Backward Glass.
  10. If you could be anyone from The Hunger Games except for Katniss, who would you be? *puts head in hands* Guys… I don’t know. I don’t know. Probably Annie Cresta, because then Finnick is my husband. But their story is so tragic, and my heart broke enough just reading about it!

And now for my nominees. I’m just going to list a few of the blogs I always enjoy – you guys should follow them for sure! If you’re nominated, feel free to accept the award or not. I just want to advertise your awesomeness 😉

  1. Angie at Disquietus
  2. Asti at A Bookish Heart
  3. Ner at A Cup of Coffee and a Book
  4. Meggy at Adrift on Vulcan
  5. Andi at Andi’s ABCs
  6. Lauren at Books, Tea, and Me
  7. Chiara at Books for a Delicate Eternity
  8. Kelly at Effortlessly Reading
  9. Chrissi at Chrissi Reads
  10. Arial at In Italics
  11. Renae at Respiring Thoughts
  12. Quinn at Quinn’s Book Nook
  13. Kate at whY.A.not?

“The first to rise at a table of thirteen will be the first to die.” Something like that. Thanks Trelawney!

Okay, so you guys need to answer questions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 10 from Jasmine’s questions, and questions 1, 2, 4, 7, and 9 from Lillian’s questions. Sorry I’m lazy 😉 But they’re such good questions!

Thanks again to Jasmine and Lillian!

7 thoughts on “The Liebster Award (Again!)

  1. Finnick’s wife! That is a cunning idea! And that is humble of you to not lwt the power of changing history get to you. If I got the chance, I would turn evil! :/
    And yay for winter! I love that season! I dont have snow here, just cold nights and rain. But it’s close enough! 😀 Sorry about the judgemental attitude towards your degree. It takes a lot for people to accept! *shakes head*

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

