Stacking the Shelves (6)

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Check out her blog here! Basically, it’s a time where I get to show off all the books I got in the past week (purchased, netgalley, borrowed, etc). I’m going to keep my time period from Sunday through Saturday, posting my weekly updates on Sunday morning.

Today’s time period is from 9/29/13 through 10/5/13.

Bought:

photo

  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (already finished it and LOVED it beyond words can say – my review will come as a double with Siege and Storm sometime later this week)
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (I’m reading Waterfell before this one so I stay on top of my NetGalley reviews, but I’m picking this one up soon!)
  • What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang (already read it – come back tomorrow for my review!)
  • Wings of Glass by Gina Holmes (free on Kindle)
  • Adrian’s War (A Distant Eden, #2) by Lloyd Tackitt (free on Kindle – and now I find out that it’s a sequel… Now I need to hunt down book 1)
  • Proxy by P.S. Power (free on Kindle)
  • Steel Wind Rising by Scott Meintjes (free on Kindle)

Soo… I broke the ban. But for good reason!!! Sara (over at What A Nerd Girl Says) and I are going to meet Leigh Bardugo on the 29th! I just had to read the books before then. And What’s Left of Me… Well… My self control only goes so far. We’re lucky this is all the damage I did.

From NetGalley:

Added to my Wishlist:

So that’s my haul for this week! Did you pick up anything special recently? Let me know in the comments so we can properly fangirl together!

10 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (6)

  1. I keep hearing great things about Shadow & Bone! I’d never heard of Lovely, Dark, & Deep before this post, but I may have to read it now because the title references my favorite poem of all time. Robert Frost’s Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening had that line at the end — “The woods are lovely, dark, and deep/but I have miles to go before I sleep/miles to go before I sleep.”

  2. I SPY THREE AWESOME BOOKS! S&B, S&S, and WLoM were all some of my favorite reads for 2012 and 2013, so I really, really, really hope you feel the same way as well, and those books were definitely worth breaking your ban. 😉 Forget what Mel said about Sturmhond — the Darkling is much better. Though dammit, the entire cast of characters in the GRISHA trilogy is amazing, okay?! And eep, so jealous you’re getting to meet Leigh! You better write a post ALL about it when you get back, missy. Plus pictures.

    Yay, you added WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE to your wishlist! I loved that book to pieces. And I hope you get to read LOVELY, DARK AND DEEP soon — I haven’t heard much about the book, but I like the simplicity of the cover and how mysterious it sounds.

    Have a great week, Kayla!

    • I don’t know… The Darkling was pretty douchey at the end of book 1 – he tricked me too much to trust him just yet! But I have a penchant for dark characters… so I’m sure I’ll fall back in love… again.

      Of course I’ll take pictures!!! I’m really hoping she can sign my copies of S&B and S&S, but I can’t decide which I want signed if she’ll only do one… HELP ME PICK!!!

      Lovely, Dark and Deep is about recovering after tragedy, I think. Letting go of the past and all that 🙂

  3. I will have to look back tomorrow to see what you think of What’s Left of Me. It’s pretty cool that you will meet Leigh Bardugo! I met her once and she is lovely.

    As for your wishlist: Where the Stars Still Shine is fantastic! Rush is unique, but not my favorite. This is What Happy Looks Like is pretty sweet. Lovely, Dark and Deep is very heart breaking.

    Rule of Thirds looks intriguing. I may have to add it to my own wishlist.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

