Happy Book Birthday: Backward Glass by David Lomax!

Today’s the day! The publication date of Backward Glass, David Lomax’s debut novel. Let me just say that I absolutely love this book, and I’m so disappointed that Barnes and Noble isn’t carrying it in store when I go later today. I have to order mine on Amazon, so I may not get it until next week. Sad day! 

So to satisfy my sorrow due to lack of book-holding, I’ll foist it all onto you so I make sure you get your copies too! Here’s a quick look at the specifics:

Synopsis from Goodreads: Crack your head, knock you dead, then Prince Harming’s hunger’s fed.

It’s 1977, and Kenny Maxwell is dreading the move away from his friends. But then, behind the walls of his family’s new falling-apart Victorian home, he finds something incredible–a mummified baby and a note: “Help me make it not happen, Kenny. Help me stop him.”

Shortly afterwards, a beautiful girl named Luka shows up. She introduces Kenny to the backward glass, a mirror that allows them to travel through time. Meeting other “mirror kids” in the past and future is exciting, but there’s also danger. The urban legend of Prince Harming, who kidnaps and kills children, is true–and he’s hunting them. When Kenny gets stranded in the past, he must find the courage to answer a call for help, change the fate of a baby–and confront his own destiny.

If that doesn’t get you interested enough, check out my review here. Back then, I rated it a 5/6 (when I had my old system), but on the new system I give it a… drumroll…

Cannot Fathom a RatingIt’s one of those that has to grow on you after a while. I wasn’t left feeling blown away, but it stayed with me for weeks after. I kept thinking about it, again and again, and that’s when I knew it was something special. Backward Glass has a feeling of timelessness, kind of like To Kill A Mockingbird for me. No matter your age, you can find something to hold on to in the book that will really stick with you.

I just absolutely love it, and I hope you guys can give it a chance and support David! He’s amazing, even when I pester him with questions about BG and other topics 🙂

Find David on these sites: 

His Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Buy the book here:

Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Amazon

And now that I’ve passed the flag to you all, go forth and spread the news!

Also, Supernatural season 9 premieres tonight. And I’m going to meet Veronica from The Talking (Blogging) Bookworm and we’re going to take Barnes and Noble by storm. It’s a good, good day.

The Best Emma

 

8 thoughts on “Happy Book Birthday: Backward Glass by David Lomax!

  1. YES! I am SO HAPPY to hear that you loved it. I totally know that feeling where after you read a book, you can’t stop thinking about it. I have the same experience with Beth Revis’s Across the Universe trilogy. I read it months ago and I still think about it..waay too much lol. I have the ARC of Backward Glass and I’ll read it right after I finish Sick by Tom Leveen. Awesome review! My excitement doubled after reading your review.

    -Leigh

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

