Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Made Me Cry

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Okay, so this weeks topic is technically best/worst series endings, but like I’ve said lately, I haven’t actually finished that many series. So, I’m pulling from the Broke and Bookish archives and picking a topic I never got to do because I didn’t start blogging till June. So instead… *drumroll*

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books that made me cry.

Flawless. Who doesn’t love a good cry? Some made me cry from pure joy and bliss, others rent my heart in two with feels, and some made me so angry that the only way I could express my emotion was through tears.

So without further adieu…

1. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. This one was along the lines of Perks for me. I laughed with Stargirl, then cried because she abandoned everything she was, and then smiled through my joyful tears when she embraced everything that made her Stargirl.

2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Steven Chbosky. I’ve marked my copy up with underlines, post its, and highlights. I don’t think there’s ever been another book that I connect to like this one.

3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. This one was one of those bittersweet cries at the close of a book. It was a magical blend of sorrow, loss, hope, and promise.

4. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. So many emotions mixed with this one. It was like a rollercoaster.

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. PAIN. ALL I SEE IS PAIN. And beauty. And tragedy. But mostly pain.

6. Left Drowning by Jessica Park. Happy tears, sad tears, angry tears. I was a faucet, okay?

7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. Always. All was well. Of course it’s happening in your head, but why should that mean it isn’t real? How to bring a Potterhead to their knees 101.

8. Percy Jackson: The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan. I wasn’t expecting so much emotion from this one, since the other four books mostly made me laugh. But this cut into my heart as it made me giggle – a dangerous mix. WARNING: SORROW ABOUNDS.

9. Breathless by Lurlene McDaniel. Angry tears. Pure, seething rage. I threw this book – literally. And promptly cried because I had no idea how to handle the absolute displeasure I felt.

10. Cracked by Eliza Crewe. This was a surprise hit – I was laughing at the snark for the first half, then WHAM-O. FEELS AHOY. I think it was Eliza’s plot the entire time: reel me in with humor, then kill me with feels.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Made Me Cry

    • I’m still not quite sure why I cried while reading Stargirl… I think it’s because at that point I really could identify with Stargirl as she tried to find herself, and not be shaped by the opinions of others. It was a really powerful message that spoke directly to my situation at the time.

  1. I have only ever cried three books – like full on tears, not just shiny eyes etc. They are: The Book Thief, Dragon’s Tear, & Heartland (#19). Yes, all italics because I am lazy – hurrah! It’s just really hard to make me cry in books, because it has to reel me in with both the writing and the characters, and books don’t always do that for me. So my list for that week’s topic would have only been three long, haha. It makes me seem so cold hearted 😛
    Anyway, if you want to read my best and worst series enders, here they are: My Top Ten post 🙂

    • I wish I could cry less over books! I honestly don’t cry over things, at all, even life-changing stuff. But give me a book… man I’ll be a big ball of tears. Some are just sniffles, but others (like TFiOS and Left Drowning) have me absolutely sobbing like the horrible mess that I am 😛

      I still need to read The Book Thief… I’m going to be a mess in the theatre when it premieres this year. I can feel it.

    • That’s true! I think it just sticks out to me because I literally did not stop crying for about 90 pages. I would wipe my tears so I could see, then they’d fill up again and I couldn’t see the page. Over and over and over!

  2. I’ve only ever cried from a handful of books, but I don’t remember which ones they were besides The Fault in Our Stars. Oh my gosh, I probably will never cry like that from reading a book ever again. I was a HOT MESS.

    It’s so weird, because I’m a huge TV/movie crier. I’ve seriously cried during commercials before. But, for some reason, books just don’t do that to me.

  3. Thinking about TFioS makes me want to start crying again! I loved the Help and Perks of Being a Wallflower and OF COURSE Harry Potter. I read Stargirl years ago when a friend lent it to me and I know I liked it at the time, but can’t remember too much about it now.

      • lol! I read Marley and Me before I saw the film so I knew just when to stop watching before it got to the super-sad part, so maybe I can do it again for TFioS!

  4. I’ve only read half of the ones you’ve mentioned, but I cried in all of them (except Stargirl) — Harry Potter, The Fault in Our Stars, My Sister’s Keeper and The Help. But I relish a good cry.
    Great list!

    • Sometimes the only way to get a tear out of me is from a book, so I’m always looking for the perfect one to get that emotional catharsis 🙂

      Except when I’m reading a book and it’s an unexpected tear-jerker… and I’m in public… and people are staring… It’s a problem.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

