Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Was Forced to Read

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is:Β Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read (either by teachers, friends, other bloggers, book club) — doesn’t necessarily have to be a BAD thing. Could be required reading, yes, but also book club, or just super enthusiastic friends “making” you read something!

1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. This one came from Veronica… and Andi… and Arial… and I’m so glad I didn’t ignore them! I can’t even put into words my emotions for this book. But I’ll try tomorrow, so come back for my review πŸ˜‰

2. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. Also from Veronica: she practically shoved it into my hands, and I was once again so thrilled that I listened to her! She’s now my official “contemporary fiction book finder for Kayla”. It’s totally legit.

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. My dad made me read this one, and while I don’t like some of the other books he forced on me, this one was the best, and is still one of my favorite all time reads.

4. Zenzele: A Letter for My Daughter by J. Nozipo Maraire. This was from my “African Culture” class in college, and even though I didn’t like the other three books too much, this is my fave, and now I’m teaching it in my world lit class next semester!

5. Antigone by Sophocles. I struggled with Greek plays in my “Roots of Western Culture” class, but Antigone was seriously an A++.

6. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy. I read this one when I was trying to decide on my book list for my General Lit class, and I fell in love, head over heels. Now it’s one of my favorite books to teach!

7. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This was just general peer pressure, and I’m so glad to have given in.

Now here are three that I’ve recently purchased/waiting for in the mail because of the influence of others:Β 

8. For Darkness Shows the Stars and Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diane Peterfreund. Because I love the Scarlet Pimpernel, and of course I had to read the first one in the series too.

9. If I Stay by Gayle Foreman. Because Veronica said that if I sobbed so much over TFiOS, I’d be dead after this one. I just couldn’t turn down that challenge!

10. Altered by Jennifer Rush. I’d had my eye on it for a few weeks, but Andi posted about how much she loved it, so I caved! I actually won a preorder of the sequel that comes out in January from Andi’s giveaway, so I’m all set for both now!

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Was Forced to Read

  1. Anna & the French Kiss is on my to-read list as I hear so much about it from other other blogs and TTT posts. The covers for the Diana Peterfreund books are soooo pretty!

    • I suggest you read some πŸ˜‰ I haven’t read the Peterfreund ones, and haven’t even read many reviews of them, but they were just so pretty, and the Scarlet Pimpernel pulled me in, since Across a Star Swept Sea is based on that.

    • As long as I can get past the one-minute trailer without hitting someone for once! I FREAK out whenever I see a trailer… and my friends always have the bruises to show for it.

      But yes πŸ™‚ I will be there, and possibly even the premiere night, even though I’d probably not be in bed till 4, and then have to get up at 6 for work. I am totally willing to make that sacrifice!

  2. You’ll appreciate this story… I was in Barnes an Noble one day when I overheard a dad and his daughter talking. He said to her, “That’s Ender’s Game, and I’m going to make you read it someday. You’ll love it.”

  3. Oh my gosh, I haven’t read any of the books on your list besides The Hunger Games! But I really do want to read Anna and the French Kiss, Second Chance Summer, and Ender’s Game soon. I was pretty sure that I would never read AatFK, but so many people have raved about it, that I think I just ended up being convinced. I don’t own it yet, but it’s on my list of books to buy soon.

    • Oh it’s so worth it! I thought I would hate it, or be ambivalent, but it really is one of my favorite books I’ve read in a while. It’s pure happiness in between two covers πŸ™‚

  4. Really loved Anna and the French Kiss and Second Chance Summer. The Hunger Games is one of my favourite series of all time. If I Stay is a proper tearjearker, but such a beautiful book. I’ve been told I have to read Ender’s Game and am really looking forward to getting to that one. My TTT

    • “Oh I’ve read that one… that one too… oh that will make you cry… AWWW it was so cute!!!” Yes – that was you in the contemporary section πŸ˜‰ You’ll be my munchkin on the yellow brick road

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

