Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Character Names I Love or Top Ten Unusual Character Names

1. Blue, Ronan, Gansy, Adam, and Noah from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I just think these names represent their personalities so well: Blue – a bit offbeat, Ronan – slightly dangerous, Gansy – slightly high-brow, Adam – deceptively simplistic, and Noah – quiet and unassuming.

2. Alaska from Looking for Alaska by John Green. Because it’s such a pretty name, and it’s a bit wild and uncommon – very much like Alaska herself.

3. Valentine from Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I love Valentine. I love her name, I love her personality. She’s so sweet and caring, and everything good about a person. 

4. Fear from Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton. Because who wouldn’t fall in love with a man named Fear?

5. The Darkling from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. Honestly, I love all of the character names. I think they’re perfect – but The Darkling is aptly named, moreso than the others.

6. Meda (Andromeda) from Cracked by Eliza Crewe. Who doesn’t love a bit of Greek mythology?

7. Annie Cresta from Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Honestly, I just love this name. It gives me that picture of the ocean. It rolls so fluidly off my tongue that it’s like the ebb and flow of the waves.

8. Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I think they’re appropriately semi-pretentious, and they’re just pretty names besides that, yeah?

9. Susie Salmon from The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. “My name is Salmon, like the fish. First name, Susie.” And that’s the introduction to this beautiful character. I may not love the entire plot, but Susie is a near and dear character of mine. I wish you all a long and happy life.

10. Saphira from Eragon by Christopher Paolini. The snark mistress of all snarky characters. Seriously, I think Saphira is the reason I’m 25% sarcasm. I just love her, despite my distaste for the later books.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names

    • Ender’s Game is one of those books that I have to slip in every week 😛 Kind of like Harry Potter. I actually love everything about Annie: she’s one of my favorite characters in Mockingjay – and they picked the perfect actress to play her!

  1. I forgot about The Darkling, his name is so completely perfect. I kind of forgot that it’s his name… but at least I put Alina on my list! I can’t wait for the third book to come out.

    Roxy @ Story Envy

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

