DNF Review: The Rising by Terra Harmony

Title: The Rising
Author: Terra Harmony
Pages: 271
Genre: YA, fantasy
Series? Yes, The Painted Maidens #1
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Publication Date: November 5, 2013

Synopsis from NetGalley: Fifteen-year-old Serena is the youngest member of a dying race. The increasing acidity of the ocean is destroying her home, slowly eating away at the once thriving underwater landscape. But since the night of Serena’s birth, it is an outside force that most threatens their dwindling population. Werewolves, who once served as protectors for mermaids in the Kingdom of the Undine, now seek to eliminate all who dwell in the ocean — and Serena is about to find herself right in the middle of the deadly conflict.

Given the title of Werewolf Liaison, Serena is determined to make things right for her people. When she ventures to The Dry, she meets Liam, the werewolf with hazel eyes, and her whole world gets turned upside down. As Serena discovers the real history between werewolves and mermaids, she is left wondering who her true enemies are.

Thoughts and Rambling

Well, I stuck to exactly 30% this time. Really, I wanted to give up at about 12%, but I forced myself to keep going in hope that it would get better. It didn’t. I’m just thinking that mermaids and I don’t go together – I have never read a good mermaid book.

I had hoped I would like this one, since I read Terra’s book Water a while back and really enjoyed it! But the good vibes didn’t cross over, I’m afraid. I think this DNF was more of a personal issue, rather than an actual problem with the book. I’ll try to explain below!

Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of The Rising through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Character Bar

Honestly, they were a bit whiny for me. Serena moans about her new job, even when she needs to be alert to save her own life! And plus, it looked like she was heading towards a love quadrangle: the childhood friend, the sexy guard, and the forbidden werewolf. I can barely handle a triangle, so this pretty much was a huge no-no for me.

Other than that, they weren’t very well developed. I didn’t know much about any of them, other than their positions in the mermaid society. Even then, I mixed up a few of the characters, just because they were so flat. Concept and Plot

Concept: It’s mermaids! I love mermaids, in theory. I just can’t seem to find a good book where mermaids are actually in practice. Werewolves I’m still leery of, after Jacob Black, but I wanted to give them a chance again. I guess blending them together was too much of a leap for me.

Plot: It was pretty slow. Even at 30%, there wasn’t much going on. I was left wanting a lot more, and I wasn’t invested at all in Serena’s problems. Writing Style

It was in present tense. On top of everything else, it was like the last straw. And I think there were parts where it was mixed third and first, and it bugged me too much. Plus, there wasn’t much showing going on – just a lot of telling. Last ThoughtsJust not my cup of tea. I’m going to be really wary of mermaid books now!

My Final Rating:

DNF

Find the book at:

Amazon |  Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

One thought on “DNF Review: The Rising by Terra Harmony

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-Up | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

