Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Title: Insurgent
Author: Veronica Roth
Pages: 525
Genre: YA, dystopian, sci-fi
Series? Yes, Divergent #2
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: May 1, 2012

Synopsis from Goodreads: One choice can transform you, or destroy you.

Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Thoughts and Rambling

First of all, I loved Divergent. Loved it! But this time Insurgent didn’t quite live up to the standards of its predecessor. I still enjoyed it, thoroughly, but it didn’t have that same sparkle. It had that sense of an interim novel – the setup for Allegiant, not a continuation of a novel that can also stand alone.

Character Bar

So I didn’t like the characters – well – Tris, as much as in Divergent. But I still loved Tobias, and Uriah became a new favorite as well.

Tris – This is where I saw a lot of parallels to Katniss (Catching Fire version). She’s still Tris, but with the trauma from the end of Divergent, she’s different. She’s a bit more skittish, but at the same time she’s wildly reckless. And while she deals with her post-traumatic stress, she makes a lot of ridiculous decisions that don’t even make sense other than to cause drama. And she has this hell-bent focus on self-sacrifice: so much so that it no longer becomes sacrifice, but rather suicide disguised as altruism.

Tobias/Four – I still love this boy. Sometimes he’s really harsh to Tris, but I think that’s what makes him so human and keeps him so interesting. He’s vulnerable, but not childish or whiny. And he takes everything that scares or haunts him and channels it into moving forward. I just really can’t express fully how much I love the multi-dimensional aspects of Four.

Other characters – Some of my favorite characters were actually the secondary characters. They didn’t have a huge presence in the novel, but I always enjoyed their page time. Notable examples include Caleb (even if he screwed up), Uriah (I love his humor, and his relationship with his brother), and Lynne – she’s just badass.

Concept and Plot

As with Divergent, I still love the whole idea of everything with the factions and what was going on. And in Insurgent, Amity, Candor, and Erudite are explored more in depth – definitely the world-building I was searching for! Veronica defined all of the factions very well, and it was even more interesting to find out that the boundaries aren’t as clear as everyone said they were. Not only that, but even having some of the factions admitting to drugging their citizens to maintain a line of thinking was a surprising twist.

The plot this time was a bit too weighty for me. There was so much going on, and sometimes I didn’t know what really happened. It was like whiplash a bit – Tris was back in Abnegation, then all of a sudden she’s storming Erudite. She says she’s with Tobias, but then all of a sudden she’s on Marcus’s side. If a few scenes had been cut out, I think it would have flowed a lot better. And that cliffhanger was fantastic!

Writing Style

One thing I noticed when I was reading: Veronica uses a strange lack of contractions. I’m not sure if it’s supposed to be a mark of the society, or if it’s just her writing style, but sometimes it reads more like an academic paper rather than a novel. Last ThoughtsDespite my few nitpicks, I really did enjoy Insurgent. I just feel that it didn’t quite live up to the standard Divergent set. I’m really looking forward to seeing how everything resolves in Allegiant. I know some of the generalities, but I want to see the details for myself rather than hear it through everyone else. I’ll see you all on the other side – you better have a trauma kit prepared for me.  

My Final Rating: (Technically a 4.7)

Five Stars

Find the book at:

Amazon |  Barnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

Food For Thought (sound off in the comments!): 

If you’ve read the book: 

  • What did you think of Tris’s insistence on sacrificing herself? Was it motivated by altruism or do you think she had a death wish?
  • Now that we know more about the factions, which is your favorite? Which do you identify the most with?

If you haven’t: 

  • Do you think self-sacrifice, no matter the motivation, is still honorable?
  • How do you feel about the trend emerging in YA lit that the protagonists show symptoms of PTSD after traumatic events? Do you think it makes the book more realistic, or do you think it just results in unnecessary angst?
12 thoughts on “Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Glad to hear your thoughts on this one. Seems to be the consensus with the Divergent fans. According to my 13-year-old, Allegiant is better.

  2. I think I’m Divergent. Haha! I see myself in either Erudite, Candor, or Abnegation. I took this test that pointed me to Erudite, but I think I’m mostly Abnegation. Plain and boring. Just kidding. I think I just like putting others before em most of the time.

  3. “It was like whiplash a bit,” I think that’s the perfect way to describe Insurgent! Iwas confused many times by all the back and forth. The cliffhanger got me COMPLETELY EXCITED though because I spent both books asking, “Why is their world this way? It doesn’t make any sense! Tell me why, Veronica Roth! Oh look, now the characters are learning new things and are going to be learning more in Allegiant! Yay!” Unfortunately, I won’t be able to read it until after November since I’m taking the month off from reading to write, but it’s waiting in my Nook for me.

    • YES! At the cliffhanger I literally had my mouth open like holy crap PLOT TWIST. I’ve heard it’s a bit of an info dump in Allegiant – hopefully not too bad though.

      Oh NaNoWriMo? Good luck!!! I had to opt out this year due to my work schedule 😦 I’ll be cheering you on for sure!

  4. I feel like this book read a bit like the beginning of Mockingjay (yep, another Hunger Games comparison) before Katniss gets herself together. It can be a bit painful to read, and you keep rooting for the characters because you know how amazing they can be at their best, but you hate seeing them at less than that. If that makes coherent sense :\

  5. Pingback: October Wrap-Up | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

