Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Title: Legend
Author: Marie Lu
Pages: 305
Genre: YA, dystopian, futuristic
Series? Yes, Legend #1
Publisher: Speak (paperback version 2013)
Original Publication Date: November 9, 2011

Synopsis from Goodreads: From different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths…

Until June’s brother is murdered, and Day becomes the prime suspect.

In a shocking turn of events, the two uncover what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths to which their country will go to keep its secrets.

Thoughts and Rambling

I’ve heard mixed reviews about Legend before starting, but honestly I can’t see what everyone was talking about! I inhaled this book in one sitting – staying up till 1 am despite my 5:45 am wakeup time to finish it. Seriously, I could not put it down. And I was FREAKING OUT the whole time – gasping and screaming and hand flailing. The works. I was a mess. A total, complete, perfect mess. This is, without a doubt, a new favorite series of mine. Thank you SO MUCH to Veronica for letting me borrow it! And now I’m going to force her to finish it 😉Character Bar

This was what I had heard was a weak point – the characters were flat and indistinguishable from each other. I didn’t see that at all!

June: At first I identified with June because of her academic excellence (with the test being similar to the SATs), but she quickly grew into something more than that. Between her drive to avenge Metias’s death, and her conflict after she meets Day, June was a complex and well-rounded character. Her growth was believable and dynamic, and I loved who she became by the end. And she wasn’t whiny!!! She took everything in stride, and instead of crying in a corner, she knew what she had to do, and moved forward with it.

Day: Where to start. I loved this character. I loved all these characters. I feel like I’m repeating myself here! But Day was the perfect compliment to June – his roguish behavior was the opposite of her military strictness, and they blended together so well to create a perfect team. And he was so charming and charismatic – once again, I have fallen in love with a fictional character. And despite his hard exterior, he has this lovely squishy inside that’s just heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time.

Metias: Veronica warned me about him – but she didn’t warn me about the FEELS. Apparently I missed the part in the synopsis about his death though… I wish I had known that before I fell in love! This is when I knew that this book was great – I knew Metias for 25 pages, and when he died I literally cried. Hand over heart, mouth open, painful gasping. I kept thinking, he’s coming back, right? He’s not dead, it’s just pretend! (Once again: I’ve watched too much Supernatural.) I loved everything about Metias – his relationship with June, his dedication to his job, and his slight wry streak. He was as perfect as you can get.
Concept and Plot

Concept: You know, it’s nothing new. Corrupt government, military regiment, strict education, systems based on intelligence. I’ve read it before. But Marie blended them all together in a perfect way that it didn’t feel like a rerun – I was reading something entirely fresh and totally engaging!

Plot: Heart stopping. That’s the only way I can describe it! It was a whirlwind, a roller coaster ride, and I enjoyed every second of it. I caught some of the foreshadowing, but for most of it I kind of sat back and watched it unfold. And the big reveal??? HOLY CRAP BATMAN. Writing Style

Like I said, totally engaging. And I usually don’t like split perspectives, but this was so well done. And I could tell the difference between June and Day without a problem – they think differently, and approach everything in their own methods. Very well done in their distinction! Last ThoughtsREAD THE BOOK. You will not regret it! I want to read the next book, Prodigy, but I’m going to wait until Champion comes out and then buy the boxed set next month. And I just found out that Marie Lu is going to be at an event in December that’s only two hours away from me – I’m totally planning on going if I have the day off from work!

My Final Rating:

Cannot Fathom a Rating

Find the book at:

Amazon |  Barnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

Food For Thought (sound off in the comments!): 

If you’ve read the book: 

  • How did you feel about the split perspective? Did you like June or Day better?
  • Did you see that plot twist coming? How quickly did you catch on?

If you haven’t: 

  • How do you feel about split perspectives in books? Do you find that you prefer one character over the other, or do you like them equally?
  • Why haven’t you read this book yet???
4 thoughts on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

  1. This book sounds way too awesome to miss out on. Day, June, and Metias (even if he does die soon) seem like great characters and I do love plots that are heart stopping! Thank you for such of a fangirly review, Kayla. It has convinced me to buy the book (when Champion comes out since I don’t want to, like, die from waiting).

    Questions:
    —How do you feel about split perspectives in books? Do you find that you prefer one character over the other, or do you like them equally?–

    I love split perspectives in books! They allow you to see the story from two different sides and that’s always fun! I usually tend to like one character over the other. For example, in The Diviners there are at least three different perspectives, but I liked reading from Evie’s the best.

    –Why haven’t you read this book yet???–

    I DON’T KNOW!

    • Oh get the boxed set! All three books in the series on nice hardcover, all put together 😀

      I’ve found that with split perspectives as well – I always want to go back to a specific one and hear more of their side of the story.

      READ IT NOW!

  2. Great review! I just read this one recently and really enjoyed it. Actually, I liked it so much, I grabbed Prodigy and read it right after hehe.

    I don’t mind dual perspectives in novels. Sometimes they work and sometimes they don’t, but I do feel like it was necessary here only so we could really understand just how bad the Republic really is. I did feel like June and Day’s voices did sound the same at some points, but they still had their own distinct voices so it wasn’t that big of a deal.

    Have you read Prodigy yet? If so, how did you find it?

    • Yeah, at the very beginning they were pretty similar to each other. But after a while they evened out and I loved their unique voices 🙂

      I haven’t picked up Prodigy yet, because I’m waiting to buy the boxed set when Champion comes out this Tuesday! I’ll read both sequels then 😉

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

