Top Ten Tuesday: Let’s Redesign Some Covers!

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Covers I’d Redesign if I could. Ohhh this is going to be SO. MUCH. FUN. As a closet cover snob, I can finally let my freak flag fly! I’ve split it between the covers I’d love to change, and the covers I’m glad were changed when they were re-published.

Bad Covers

1. Vampire Academy by Rachel Mead. The cover is the reason I haven’t picked up the book, to be perfectly honest. It looks like Angelina Jolie, and I don’t like her. That’s the only reason.

2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. Same thing as Vampire Diaries – I won’t read the book because of the cover. It just looks like a bad vampire masquerade tale.

3. Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always by Elissa Jeanine Hoole. I honestly don’t understand what the firefly jar has to do with anything in this book.

4. All of the Sarah Dessen books. I loved the old covers, and I don’t understand why they changed them! I mean, this one for Just Listen is pretty, but that first one was unique. All the new ones are very similar to each other, with the same gloss and generic images.

I’m Glad They Changed Them Covers

5. If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I like the new one – it’s more haunting.

6. Uglies by Scott Westerfield. I like the new covers ten times better. The first cover looks like a bad remake of The Lord of the Flies!

7. Looking for Alaska by John Green. I’m pretty sure this is the newer cover, but for whatever reason I didn’t get this one but the one with the smoke instead?? Either way, I like this one better. It represents more of the book I think.

8. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I mean… the new covers really don’t have anything more to do with the story, but they’re just so pretty to look at! Plus, that chick’s face on the hardcover looks weird, like they photo shopped it too much.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Let’s Redesign Some Covers!

  1. I want the Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series covers redesigned so bad. They deserve better then “pretty people” covers.

    Awwwwwwww I love the covers for the Laini Taylor books. And you’re really missing out because Daughter of Smoke and Bone was pretty awesome.

    I actually prefer the new Sarah Dessen covers.

    I love the new Uglies covers as well. I’m eventually going to replace my set with them.

    I love the Shatter Me covers even though I don’t get the eyeball thing at all. But they are pretty so that’s good enough for me.

    • YES! That’s what they are – pretty people covers. They just irk me no matter what series it is.

      Everyone said that about DoSaB… I’ll read it… Eventually… Maybe 😉

      Yeah I don’t get the eyeball thing but they’re so gorgeous, especially the novellas and Ignite Me.

  2. I think 9 times out of ten, reworked covers end up being horrible. Sarah Dessen and Scort Westerfield books are a great example. They don’t really do anything for the series and O don’t find them more appealing than the ordinal in the slightest.

    • Usually, I agree! Those were just the few that I’ve really liked now that they’re changed – I think Anna and the French Kiss is another. But most covers are suitable for their books, I think

  3. I much prefer the red UK covers for the Vampire Academy series…one of the few times I prefer the UK cover to the US one! I love the Shatter Me covers…they’re so pretty! I like the new Sarah Dessen covers, but I think it’s because I wasn’t a huge fan of the UK ones. (surprise, surprise!)

    My Top Ten

  4. I got the rose cover for VA and the models were the reason I was putting off buying the book in the first place. I bought Extras a month back as the Uglies cover was weird. Now that it looks better, I have the dilemma of replacing Extras!
    I have the other cover for Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It was the only one available and it looks better then this one! 😀

  5. I love the change they made for both Shatter Me and If I Stay. Definitely good calls. I will say though that I am a fan of the Dessen changes. They look a little more grown-up which will expand the reading audience, not that she needs it. HA

    My TTT List

    • I think the first If I Stay was too airy, if that makes sense. Like it was going to be uplifting and hopeful. I haven’t read the book yet, but from what I’ve heard it’s dark and a sob-your-eyes-out book

  6. That Uglies cover is ominous as heck! Very appropriate.

    I’m going to add my two cents on Daughter of Smoke… it was a good book–complicated, interesting world, dynamic characters, fascinating plot–maybe you could find it in that second cover and give it a try?

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

