Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Title: Prodigy
Author: Marie Lu
Pages: 371
Genre: Sci-fi, dystopian, YA
Series? Yes, Legend #2
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Publication Date: January 29, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads: Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

Thoughts and Rambling

So I was a little bit worried going into Prodigy, since I had read a few reviews where it was mentioned that there was a lot of unnecessary angst in the book. If I can’t handle anything, it’s unreasonable angst. And there was a tiny bit of that in Prodigy, but as another friend reminded me, these characters are barely sixteen years old. Of course they’re going to be angsty. Thus, they are forgiven, and this book is just as good as its predecessor. No sophomore slump here!Character Bar

Day: Day was the most angst-filled out of the characters, and it was mostly due to misunderstanding. I think the frustration and anger that Day felt was justified, however, and instead of making nothing of it, I think Lu really used the circumstances to Day’s benefit. By the end of the book, he’s a stronger character, confident in himself and his purpose, and taking action instead of moping in the corner.

June: June developed a lot from Legend as well. She gets to show her true skills here, as a high-class citizen and extraordinarily skilled military agent. She’s precise, calculating, and intelligent, and I loved it. Even in her struggles, she never becomes the damsel in distress. And when she becomes dangerously ill, she still pushes herself to finish her mission first, then care for her own needs. She knew what needed to be done, and carried through with it. I really, really love June, and hope other YA books will take notice and feature stronger female leads in the future.

Anden: Ughhh. That’s all I have to say. I love this character. I love who he is, I love his personality, and I love his purpose. He’s genuinely goodhearted, and wants only to repair the damage that his father wrought on the government. He’s complex, too, and there’s so much more to him than the spoiled princeling that everyone makes him out to be. BUT – here’s my one problem with him: I’m really afraid to trust Anden. I said the same things about the Darkling, and we all know how that turned out. So I’m only allowed to fall half in love with this character, because then it’ll hurt less if he ends up betraying everybody and turning out to be a douchewaffle. Concept and Plot

Concept: Like I said before, AH-MAZE-ING. And the plot thickens in Prodigy, with the addition of the Colonies and the Patriots starting to rise up and really begin their open rebellions. There’s a lovely setup that was excellent for this book as a single entity, but it’s really going to be intense in Champion when all of this comes to a boiling point.

Plot: Not quite as heart-stopping as Legend in the first half, but the second half was non-stop action. Despite my love for the heart-thumping-out-of-chest emotions, I really did enjoy the slow down of the first half of Prodigy. It gave the characters and mysteries to develop, and I feel like I know the characters a lot better now. Writing Style

Not much else to say here. Everything about this book was perfect, from the development to the execution. I really wouldn’t change a thing. And that cliffhanger – holy crap batman. I can’t even deal with life right now. Last Thoughts

Despite the slight whininess of Day, I loved this book just as much as the first, just for different reasons. Legend was the action, and the heart-stopping danger, but Prodigy is the development of the world and the situations, and the complication of plot. Hopefully Champion will blend both of those together and be one bang of an ending to this intense, incredible series!

My Final Rating:

Cannot Fathom a Rating

Find the book at:

Amazon |  Barnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

Food for thought (sound off in the comments!)

If you’ve read the book: 

  • How did you feel about Day? Was he too whiny, or was it justified?
  • WHAT DID YOU THINK OF THAT CLIFFHANGER???

If you haven’t: 

  • At what point does angst become too much for you? Is there a time when you feel like it’s justified for a character to be a bit whiny?
  • Have you ever met a character that you’re afraid to trust because you’re afraid to get burned?
8 thoughts on “Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

  1. In regards to too much angst, I found parts of the Hunger Games trilogy just too angsty. But of course Katniss has very good reasons for being angsty. Probably the only part it really lost me was near the end of Mockingjay, where she has her sort of breakdown. Can’t say much without adding spoilers, but if you’ve read it you’ll know where I mean.
    Otherwise, I’m pretty sympathetic to angst. Better to have a character feeling something than nothing.

  2. Pingback: November Wrap-Up | The Thousand Lives

  3. I’m waiting for a copy of this (and Champion) from my library so I hope it’ll in next week. I really want to go from Prodigy straight into Champion as I’ve heard a bit about a serious cliffhanger. I wasn’t a huge fan of Legend at first, but once I re-read it that changed, but I’m hoping for some backstory and history from Prodigy. Great review and I’ll look out for your review of Champion! I’m also so jealous that you’re going to meet Marie Lu! I hope you have a great time! 🙂

    • YES OMG BAD CLIFFHANGER!!! You’ll have to go directly to Champion it was disgustingly good.

      I’m reading Champion this weekend I hope, and now it’s only seven days till I meet her! I’m so excited! I’ll probably make a post all about it 😀

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

