Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Recommend to Turn Someone Into a Fantasy Reader

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books I’d Recommend To A Non-Fantasy Person. I do love contemporary, and science fiction, but my true heart lies in fantasy. And a lot of people don’t like it! These are some books I’d recommend to turn someone to the dark side and begin enjoying fantasy.

1. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien. This is true fantasy (or high fantasy, however you want to term it), so maybe not one to jump into immediately. But there’s just something so classic and timeless about Bilbo’s story – it’s a special favorite of mine, and if you enjoy this one enough, read the Lord of the Rings too.

2. The Wizard Heir by Cinda Williams Chima. Second in a series, but my personal favorite so far, this is more urban fantasy – kid finds out he has powers and chaos of the magical variety ensues. This one has a male protagonist, so it’s definitely more appealing to a male reader!

3. Angelfall by Susan Ee. Post-apocalyptic fantasy, and even though Penryn herself isn’t magical in any way (physically at least – her personality is absolute magic), it’s angels and demons. Maybe it could fall into the paranormal category too, but I call it fantasy. This is one of my all time favorite books, and I recommend it to anyone who will listen!

4. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. It’s a bit more middle grade, but the writing is humorous, yet still well developed and intricate with all the details drawn from Greek myths.

5. Harry Potter by JK Rowling. What fantasy list would be complete without this mention? Harry Potter is my childhood, and to this day a huge influence in my life. I’ll be re-reading this thing, and if I lose my memory when I’m old, the best part will be that I can read this for the first time all over.

6. Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I’m a naysayer for the remaining three books, but Eragon is still my favorite despite my displeasure with the fallout of the rest of the series. I love Saphira, in particular, and her sarcasm/wit/snark is flawless. Another male protagonist, so I’d recommend it especially for a male reader.

7. The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis. Another series that truly influenced my life. I even wrote a 75 page paper (when I only needed to write 25) for my capstone project at college on this series. They’re short, and middle grade in style, but the themes and applications are for any age.

Β 8. Cracked by Eliza Crewe. Again, maybe more paranormal than a true fantasy, but this is templars and demons. It’s a perfect, unique mix, and the snark of the main character is off the charts. Plus, the unexpected feels really round this out and make it an outstanding debut effort from an author I’ll be keeping my eye on.

9. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I can’t believe I almost forgot this one! Truly a new favorite series of mine, which isn’t a title I hand out lightly. The characters are complex, the world-building is beyond satisfactory, and every single page is a new adventure that you just can’t put down.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Recommend to Turn Someone Into a Fantasy Reader

  1. I’m an avid fantasy advocate myself and I love these – The Hobbit is a particular favourite. Couldn’t imagine life without fantasy books, especially considering 99% of what I read is fantasy πŸ˜‰ I haven’t read Angelfall or Eragon yet though, so I’m keeping an eye out for those during my next trip to the library!

    • I think you have to get Angelfall either on Amazon or at Walmart (it was just put into stores) because it’s self-published. But OMG YES read it!!!

      Eragon is amazing, and still one of my most treasured books, but just don’t have high expectations for the other three books in the series.

  2. Yes, Yes, YES! I love fantasy and have read half of these books – the Chronicles of Narnia have always been my favorites! I hadn’t heard of the other five except for Shadow and Bone. Library visit coming up!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

