Two Mini Reviews: The Sound of Shooting Stars by Heather Allen + Scarred Love by MS Brannon

I recently finished two books that left me wanting a lot more, so I decided to put them together and give a mini review for each, since I don’t have much to say!

The Sound of Shooting Stars by Heather Allen

Title: The Sound of Shooting Stars
Author: Heather Allen
Genre: YA, romance, contemporary fiction
Publication date: November 19, 2013
Publisher: Createspace Publishing Platform

Jamie Grey grew up tossed around between foster homes. At an early age he shut the world out, deciding he wouldn’t care. Whatever life had to throw at him, he would look the other way. Now his senior year is about to start and he’s been forced into yet another new home. This will be the last time, he assures himself. When an unexpected curveball comes his way in the form of a certain stubborn seventeen year old girl, Jamie soon finds out that life doesn’t always work out the way you plan it.

Beckett Chase has been entitled her entire life. Living in the plush landscape of Palm Beach, Florida, she’s never wanted for anything. She’s always taken what and who she wants with no remorse. When she sets her sights on Jamie Grey and she’s met with rejection, her descent from the top begins.

With a twist of events causing Jamie and Beckett’s worlds to collide, will they be able to put aside their differences or will fate intervene offering an entirely different option?

Amazon | Goodreads

I first read the sample available on Amazon, and was totally hooked! Those first six chapters were amazing, and I was completely sucked into the story. So I paid my $0.99 and downloaded the ebook immediately. And guess what? Those six chapters were a complete lie as to what was coming up next!

The plot was cliche, full of unnecessary drama and sickly sweet instalove. Jamie was the best character, and even so the focus was mostly on Beckett and her problems. Those problems being the standard high school Disney drama with a bit of slut shaming and sexual predators thrown in. When the creepy guys backed off, I was expecting a full on cat fight to emerge – hair pulling and flailing arms included. It was just so much whiplash-y drama that I ended up rolling my eyes halfway through and skimming the second half. I only kept reading because I wanted to see what would ultimately happen to Jamie and Beckett. Which by the way – I still don’t see their chemistry. Maybe on a physical level, but nothing romantic or real at all.

But hey, at least the cover’s pretty, right?

Two Stars

Scarred Love by M.S. Brannon

Title: Scarred Love (Sulfur Heights #1)
Author: M.S. Brannon
Genre: NA, romance, contemporary fiction
Publication Date: June 6, 2013
Publisher: Createspace Publishing Platform

Darcie Claiborne spent several years of her young life living with a monster, always fearing what he would do next. Clasping onto her last ounce of hope, Darcie releases a scream. It’s her final attempt to live; to survive the villain of her reality. Sweeping her up in his arms, Darcie’s knight in shining armor rescues her from the hell she’s been living; from the stepfather she’s feared for all those years.

Reggie Evans has been forced to grow up before he’s ready when his mother dies of an overdose, leaving him responsible to raise his younger brothers. One fateful night, Reggie jogs by an old, run down house and discovers a young girl clinging to life as she screams for help.

Three years later, Darcie is healing and always protected by the man who saved her, but now she’s fighting with something she isn’t prepared to face. The growing love for the man who saved her life three years ago, the same man who’s nine years older. All the while, Reggie fights to protect Darcie from the demons of her past and new ones of her present.

Amazon | Goodreads

Well I got this one for free on Kindle, and the synopsis was what pulled me in. I was hoping for a tragic story (because I was in a dramatic mood) with a beacon of hope shining at the end and a message about healing and moving on from trauma. Aaaannd I did not get that. Instead it was three hundred something pages of Darcie lusting after Reggie (and I know it said “growing love” in the synopsis but I expected sweet bubbling romance not “let me jump into your pants right now” romance. And Reggie? If she’s seventeen, it’s called statutory rape.

I pretty much skimmed through the entire book, still searching for that hopeful message about healing. Instead, I got a severely dysfunctional family, always cursing and throwing punches (at each other, and other parties) to solve their problems. The drama was just too much – there wasn’t a moment of rest in the nearly four hundred pages of this book, and I was just plain exhausted by the 50% mark. I did like Presley and Darcie’s friendship, and wish that could have been developed a lot more.

Long story short, it wasn’t what I was looking for, and the ending was wrapped up too nicely in the prologue after the huge event in the last chapter. It was like “my stepdad who abused me for ten years went after his niece who also happens to be my best friend and now she’s got the scars to match mine but HEY at least I’m sleeping with my knight in shining armor! Oh and did I mention he’s twenty seven? No biggie, right?”

Just… ugh. And yet I’m compelled to read the sequel, which details Presley’s story and her life after she was attacked by her uncle. Maybe I’d get what I’m looking for from that one? Probably not. I’ll save my cash and skim it when it’s free.

Two Stars

6 thoughts on “Two Mini Reviews: The Sound of Shooting Stars by Heather Allen + Scarred Love by MS Brannon

  1. Ugh, sorry you didn’t like these two. They don’t really sound like my cup of tea, but I’m glad I read your reviews to warn me away. It’s always disappointing when the sample is so much better than the rest of the book. Hopefully you will read something better soon!

  2. O_O These sound pretty bad, especially Scarred Love. I’m not completely against relationships with age-gaps, as long as both parties understand what they are doing and know what they can or cannot do, in the case of one person being a little younger than eighteen, and the relationships needs to be written WELL, which it seems like the author failed to do.

    “Now she’s got the scars to match mine but HEY at least I’m sleeping with my knight in shining armor!” *resists the urge to punch the screen* Is the girl’s suffering really that glossed over? I find that absolutely sickening.

    I haven’t read this book myself, but I’ve heard from reviewers I trust, like Christina and Steph Sinclair, that Unteachable is a very good book about a relationship with an age-gap, and apparently there is also some healing from past experiences going on. Except, uh, from what I can tell, the romance isn’t bubbly-sweet >_<

    Great reviews, Kayla! I hope your next reads are actually enjoyable 🙂

    • YES! Thank you! I don’t mind age jumps at all, but when it gets to be between a legal minor and an adult, I just don’t like how it’s romanticized. No matter how mature that kid might be, she/he is still a danger zone until 18.

      I’ve actually never heard of Unteachable – who wrote it?

      • I don’t like how it is romanticized either. I mean, a relationship like that, no matter how true the love is, will have to go through a lot of hardship, since it isn’t socially accepted. Not to mention the when a person starts to transition into their adult years, their personality can change a lot. It could be like dating another person >_<

        I believe that the author of Unteachable is Leah Raeder 🙂

  3. Pingback: November Wrap-Up | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

