Top Ten New To Me Authors of 2013

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013. Well pretty much every book I read was from an author new to me this year. I had been on a reading hiatus (ugly words, I know) since starting college in 2010, and had read about 5 books since that. BUT I had heard of a few of the authors I finally read (like Divergent) so I won’t list those. These are all ones that are completely, entirely new to me.

1. Brandon Sanderson. So apparently he’s famous enough to have taken over the Wheel of Time series, but this guy totally flew past my radar until Steelheart started popping up on some of my favorite blogs. I may not be a fan of WoT, but I will be religiously following the rest of Sanderson’s works for sure. 

2. Richelle Mead. So Mead is my new favorite guilty pleasure read. Though I’m not sure why it’s guilty – maybe I feel guilty about myself because I always said I hated vampire books and yet here I am being completely invested in Rose and Lissa and all these other characters? Yeah, that’s probably where the guilt comes in.

3. Maggie Stiefvater. I know she has a million other books out, but The Raven Boys was the first one I read from her. I’m still not sure if I’ll read her Wolves of Mercy Falls series, but I’m thinking of branching out to The Scorpio Races soon enough.

4. Susan Ee. It was a beautiful day when I innocently added Angelfall to my cart on Amazon. I need a few extra dollars for free shipping, and who could turn down a $5 book with angel wings on the cover? Not this girl. And the rest is history!

5. John Green. My first book was TFiOS, and while it was a super heartbreaking book, my actual favorite that I’ve read from Green so far has to be Looking for Alaska. The theme was more important to me than the love story in TFiOS *hides from angry bloggers*

6. Jessica Park. Left Drowning was one of the first books I read a review for when I started blogging, and it still stands out as one of the best NA books I’ve read thus far. But I do think that Flat-Out Love has taken the cake for me. I need a Matt someone buy me a Matt ❤

7. Marie Lu. I don’t think “new favorite series” can really encompass the love I feel for the Legend series. I laughed, I cried, I screamed, I yelled at characters. All the best emotions to elicit when I read a book. This goes right up with HP and Chronicles of Narnia on the shelf of “books I’ll pass on to my children.” And when her new series comes out in the fall, you can bet your firstborn that I’ll be preordering a copy.

8. Leigh Bardugo. Ach, this woman. She is the reason for two sleepless nights. And the reason I laughed so hard I cried. And the reason I no longer trust male characters in leadership positions until proved without a doubt that they are good. And even then I still don’t trust them. She’s absolutely hilarious in person too, and we fangirled over Sturmhond (and I may or may not have proposed marriage). I love Shadow and Bone, but Siege and Storm has Sturmhond, Tolya, and Tamar. It can’t get any better than that. Another “pass onto my kids” series.

9. Tahereh Mafi. Okay, this is a guilty pleasure author for sure. Insta-love and angst ahoy, but I can’t get enough of it. Her wacky metaphors are oddly mesmerizing, and Kenji I can’t even he’s so perfect I just need a happy ending for him okay? Happiness and sunshine and maybe a romance and just please don’t hurt Kenji in Ignite Me, please?? This is my official letter plea to Mafi.

10. Cinda Williams Chima. So I’d just like to thank Chima for bringing me back to good, old fashioned fantasy. Swords and magic and healers and wizards and warriors and battle and oh the good times I have with her Heir Chronicles. It satisfies everything that the 2-4 book in the Eragon series couldn’t. The Warrior Heir is super good, but The Wizard Heir is just AMAZING. And still need to read Dragon Heir and Enchanter Heir.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

28 thoughts on “Top Ten New To Me Authors of 2013

    • It definitely is! They’re more a set of companion novels that all follow the same storyline, so while I prefer The Wizard Heir (#2), I recommend starting with The Warrior Heir so you can see the beginnings of the conflict 🙂

    • I can, if I put away the writer side of myself. If I let myself critique, I probably wouldn’t like them nearly as much xD

      And you were the one that convinced me to read Flat Out Love 😉

  1. The more I see you talking about Steelheart the more I want to read it. Chima is somewhere in my to read bookcase. I’m terrible though because I keep getting turned off by the length (and subsequent weight) of her books.

    • Oh you just have to it’s going on my top five of best books read in 2013 list. FOR SURE. If budget wasn’t a thing that I had to abide by I’d buy everyone I knew a copy just so they could read it! The world building is just drool-worthy.

      Chima’s books are a bit meatier, but they read very smoothly and it’s really easy to get lost in them.

  2. Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Maggie Stiefvater are all new to me this year as well. The Legend series was probably my favorite this year. It’s SO. GOOD!

    I just read and reviewed Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver over on my blog. I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. It’s beautifully written, and the mythology was interesting enough. I just started the second book.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

