Weekly Update 8 (December 22)

Hi there! Once again, it’s Sunday, and time for my weekly wrap up post, where I recap everything of note that’s happened in the last seven days, including my Stacking the Shelves post.

Once again, I have no vlog. This week has been non-stop for me, with it being the last week of teaching before break, as well as my helping out backstage for my sister’s dance studio as they perform the Nutcracker. To say that I have been running since Wednesday morning is an understatement. I fell asleep Thursday night on the couch, curled up with my dog. It’s currently Friday night at 11 as I type this… tomorrow my projected working time is from 11am to 12am. I will be SLEEPING on Sunday and nothing else! But it’s all good, because I’m having tons of fun helping out 🙂 I’m the quick changer for Clara – which means that these lovely typing fingers have been put to use working with strange buttons and clasps that I’ve never seen outside of a dancer’s bag.

So here’s a picture of Kayla currently (when I’m not brain dead from exhaustion):

Currently reading: I’m zooming through five ARCs from NetGalley because whoopsies I remembered they publish at the end of January! I was approved for several Random House books, which totally made my week.

Currently listening to: Jumping back and forth between Zedd’s Clarity album and Optimist by Zoe Keating.

Currently watching: In the middle of Season 5 of Supernatural… I think. It’s been a while since I got to watch an episode! But no matter 🙂 I suppose you could say that I’m watching a million flashy tutus instead.

Currently eating/drinking: Since caffeine is a one way trip to full blown panic attacks, I’ve relied on a more natural route to get some energy this week. Tea and water have been my best friends – and lo and behold I’ve stopped getting headaches! I drink about 60 ounces of water per day, which I know still isn’t quite enough, but it’s more than the 4-8 oz I was getting before.

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Check out her blog here! Basically, it’s a time where I get to show off all the books I got in the past week (purchased, netgalley, borrowed, etc).

Purchased: 

photo

My coworker was the sweetest and gave me a gift card to Barnes and Noble today, so during lunch break I drove over and spent nearly an hour deciding before picking the entire Infernal Devices series up!

NetGalley: 

So I was down to my last three ARCs on NG… Almost cleared my queue… Wasn’t finding anymore to request (thankfully)… and then WHAM a new wave hit the YA section and I just couldn’t say no to them. Most were from publishers that I’ve been declined by before, but I decided to take a chance, and it paid off!

Coming This Week

  • Monday – Review of Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday
  • Wednesday – No post, Merry Christmas!
  • Thursday – Discussion Post (not sure of topic yet)
  • Friday – Triple Review: Entice by Erica Crouch, And We Stay by Jenny Hubbard, and Forever by Karen Ann Hopkins

As always, this is a rough schedule, and I may add more or skip a day depending on how life rolls.

How was your week? Anything you’re looking forward to in the next few days? What sort of books did you pick up? And any good plans for Christmas? 

16 thoughts on “Weekly Update 8 (December 22)

  1. I agree that the Infernal Devices is a great series and though I was sad when it finished – for many reasons that will become clear when you read it – I was glad that she ended it after the trilogy and didn’t try to spin it out like she has with the Mortal Instruments series. It ended at just the right time.

  2. I hope you enjoy The Infernal Devices. I think they would be really great holiday books to read.

    You HAVE to tell me how We Were Liars is. That is one of the books I am dying to read in 2014. E. Lockhart is a pretty witty author and I have only been hearing good things about We Were Liars.

    • I’ve promised a friend that I’ll finish Vampire Academy first, and then read TID!

      Well I’m glad someone’s heard of it! I just liked the cover and the blurb sounded good so I requested it! I’ll be reviewing it within the next month I think 🙂

  3. Dude. The Infernal Devices. Gah, I can’t wait for you to read them! They will rock your world.

    I’m looking forward to hearing what you have to say about We Were Liars and Where You’ll Find Me, because they sound really good. Plus I’d like to thank you for introducing me to Net Galley. I hadn’t heard of it before and I think that it’s something that I’m going to look into joining next year 🙂

    • That’s what everyone is saying!!! Now I’m really glad I bought the whole series and not just the first book like I had originally planned.

      Oh you’re very welcome! It’s a great resource and is also helpful because I don’t have to buy books nearly as often 😉 One tip: don’t go request crazy. Only the ones that you truly want to read! I requested so many and then it took me forever to weed through them all!

    • I’ve heard that as well, about Clockwork Princess. Hopefully I’ll still enjoy it!

      And We Stay I’ve already read, and I’ll be reviewing it on Saturday if you’re interested 🙂 I’m really excited to read We Were Liars!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

