Weekly Update 9 – Christmas edition! (December 29)

Hi there! Once again, it’s Sunday, and time for my weekly wrap up post, where I recap everything of note that’s happened in the last seven days, including my Stacking the Shelves post – and this time it’s a big one, thanks to Christmas!

No vlog yet again – I swear one day I will take a breath and sit down. But it is not this day. This day we fight! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you, STAND, MEN AND WOMEN OF THE BLOGOSPHERE.

Herm. Got a bit carried away there. I just finished watching the extended edition of the Hobbit. I’m in a bit of a Tolkien mood πŸ˜‰

Currently reading:Β These Broken Stars. It had a slow start, but I’m starting to get sucked in!

Currently listening to:Β SO MUCH NEW MUSIC. The Catching Fire soundtrack, the Pacific Rim soundtrack, the Desolation of Smaug extended soundtrack, Fall Out Boy’s Save Rock and Roll, and Katy Perry’s Prism.

Currently watching:Β My new movies πŸ˜€ The Hobbit, Iron Man 3, and Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters.

Currently eating/drinking:Β All the cookies from Christmas are gone D: I had a strong-willed moment last night and chucked them all out so I wouldn’t eat them, but now weak Kayla is back and I’m craving peanut butter again. I settled for a spoon of Nutella and a lot of water.

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Check out her blog here! Basically, it’s a time where I get to show off all the books I got in the past week (purchased, netgalley, borrowed, etc).

Ohhh this was a good, good week. Between gifts, gift cards that I spent, and Christmas money that I spent, I’m almost overwhelmed by all the new books I have to read. WHAT DO I READ FIRST??

Hardbacks:

photo 2-2

photo 4

photo 2

Control wasn’t supposed to be out till the 26th, but I was at Barnes and Noble on the 23rd and lo and behold there it was on the shelf! I couldn’t resist! And look!!! All three of the Pushing the Limits series in HARDBACK. Oh I couldn’t stop touching them when they showed up in the mail. And then the HP book was super cheap on GoHastings – I think I paid $2! I couldn’t say no to that.

Paperbacks:

photo 3

I’ve already read Cracked, thanks to NetGalley, but I wanted a physical copy for myself. And I finally caved on that awful cover for DoSaB because I figured it was a gift card and not my own money so I wasn’t losing anything! Do you see how brave I get when I have nothing to lose? Sounds like a John Green novel right there.

And then… *drumroll please* THE BIG FINALE

photo 1

I just… LOOK AT THEM. I couldn’t believe my mom actually got me the HP set, despite her confusion at me wanting another copy of the books I already owned. I love you mommy ❀

NetGalley:Β 

Coming This Week

  • Monday – Review of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday
  • Wednesday – A recap of 2013 and a look forward to 2014!
  • Thursday – Discussion Post
  • Friday – Review of Champion by Marie Lu

As always, this is a rough schedule, and I may add more or skip a day depending on how life rolls.

So now that I’ve shown off my incredibly amazing book week, what about you? What did you get for Christmas, or buy for yourself with Christmas money or gift cards?Β Enjoy the last few days of 2013!

25 thoughts on “Weekly Update 9 – Christmas edition! (December 29)

  1. YOU GOT SOME AMAZING BOOKS FOR CHRISTMAS OHMYGOSH.
    I didn’t get any gift cards (damn) for Christmas, but the books I got are: Slated by Teri Terry (or is the other way around I really do not know), Anna Dressed in Blood, Ender’s Game, TASTE OF DARKNESS, and The Farm. I haven’t read any of these so I am UBER excited weeeee! πŸ˜€

    • That’s why I read it πŸ™‚ It was finally some YA sci-fi without the dystopian bit, and I just had to have it. I give it four stars – not as great as I thought it would be since everyone was freaking out – but definitely a worthy read.

  2. Look at all dem books! I am glad you finally got Daughter of Smoke and Bone. All Our Yesterdays is pretty fantastic too.

    I didn’t get any books for Christmas, but I did go to the library so I have so many books to read right now that I just don’t know where to start.

  3. I got the Pushing The Limits series this christmas, too! And now I only have one book left to read. 😦
    I also got All Our Yesterdays, The Fault in Our Stars, Terra, Across the Universe, and I finally got Angelfall!
    My review of These Broken Stars is being posted this week, too. Your completely right about the slow start, but the last quarter had me on a roller coaster. But I’ll wait until your review to start gushing. πŸ˜›

    • Ohhh I can’t wait to see what you think of Across the Universe. After These Broken Stars I’ve decided that I really like this whole space thing!

      And mine won’t be posted for a while since I have a really backed up queue – gush away! I gave it four stars, since the start was slow and the ending really confused me! But I loved all the rest πŸ™‚

      • I like the space thing, too. And the alien thing. I think it’s my new paranormal.

        Oh I also gave it four stars, except I loved the ending! I can see why it would be confusing, though. You really have to be the “believe in miracles” kind of person.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

